Friday, June 25, 2010

Friday.

We've been having lots of girl time the past few days. Last night, we had a girls date night at Texas Roadhouse. I went to pay and two people at the bar had picked up our tab! How nice and/or creepy was that? It's sad that people can't do nice things without us all calling them weirdos. Mom wanted me to make sure they didn't follow me to the car. Dallas thought I may have been flirting it up (I had to remind my husband that women who want a man to buy a meal are NOT with their two year old NOR are they at TEXAS ROADHOUSE?!?! Hello!) I never even saw them. They left before we even ate. I thought it was nice. Maybe this is a new thing Reese and I need to do to save moola?
Today, we ran errands all day and went to the car wash. While sitting there Reese says..."Mom, we're getting our tar washed for my prince (she calls him prince all day) and because princesses don't ride in dirty tars." I can't make this stuff up. She makes me laugh a hundred times a day. I decided to get a smoothie today and told Reese about them. She said, "I've never had a snoopy, mama."
After one sip, she says, "Snoopies are yummy mama, I like them." I think we'll be back for more snoopies in this hot weather we're having. I totally forgot to blog this and it happened the first time in Fresno and now it's about once a week. Dallas takes forever to get out of the clubhouse after games (he's icing his jacked up body) and one night (as we sat forever, listening to music) she said..."Mama?" Yes, Reese? "When I see Daddy I'm gonna ask him what hole he fell into." I literally choked. "He's taking so long he must have fell into a hole." OMG. It's still just as funny as the first time. Another one? Remember "hit the road jack?" I yelled at a lady as I was driving (I know, good role model) and Reese yelled from the backseat, "Yeah, hit the road Jack!" Nice. Dallas is wondering if he should be the stay at home Dad with all of her sayings these days.
It doesn't end there. We were all at the jelly belly factory and about to go in. Shannon has 3 kids under the age of 4 and Gavin is her 2 year old (busy like Reese) so she put him on one of those kid leashes. (which I would be doing too if I had a little one on my chest) and leave it to MY child to say (when it got really quite) "Oh, look mommy, he's a doggy! He has a leash!" Enter mortification. Luckily, we all laughed and I had to explain that he was not a dog and he was very cool to have that on. She disputed me that her dog Rookie has a leash too, so I gave up. The joys of parenthood.
Here's a pic of her at jamba juice today taken with my phone. So happy with her snoopy...
When she wakes up from her nap, we're headed over to Shannon's for the girls to play and eat dinner! Daddy gets here tomorrow. Before our nap Reese asked if I would want to take one with her (reminding me that we get to sleep together when Daddy's not here and he is, in fact, not here) I said no. She responded with this (with her hands propped on her hips)..."Well, if you don't take a nap you will not be able to go see Avery or Kenz."
Thank you, my 2 year old.

Tuesday, June 22, 2010

play time and jelly belly factory trip

Yesterday, we had a fun pool day outside then, headed over to the Giese's for all of us girls (Lisa, me, Baileigh and Shannon) to all hang out and let the kiddos play. Shannon & Lisa cooked dinner and we just all sat around laughing, talking and yelling things like.."Put that down!!" or "No hitting golf clubs towards your friends heads!"...such a treat to feel completely comfortable in such chaos. Here's a pics of the only one of us girls that doesn't have kids. We worry that we are either fully preparing her of the joys to come or scaring her into heading back home to South Carolina so her husband can't get her pregnant....
The kids love her too. (They can sense when someone doesn't have their own kids to wear them out, I think...) She's super sweet, too. Today, we all headed to the Jelly Belly Factory about 45 minutes outside of Sac. The drive was gorgeous and all of the kids (there were 12 of us total) were little angels.We got there, all had lunch at the little tables outside (where everyone wants a bite of whatever someone else has....hysterical to see them all eyeing each other's plates of the exact same meals...) then, headed into the line for the tour. We all had to wear hats like Kenzie has on in the pic below...ALL OF US...hysterical. We saw the whole factory, learned about the process, etc. All 7 kiddos were well behaved too. Then, we shopped for our favorite kinds of jelly beans. Reese picked out Candy Corn and ate the whole bag. It was a blast! Here's a pic of our whole gang...Watson's, Carson's, Tolleson's. Giese's & McPherson's.
We're missing Daddy but doing great with him on the road. Tomorrow we have more pool time and gymnastics, then dinner at Lisa's. Thank goodness for these girls!

Monday, June 21, 2010

father's day!


We had the best father's day here in California. It's my favorite thus far. We got up early and Reese rattled off "Happy Father's day, Dad!!" Several times. Hopped in the car and took Dallas to the field. During our trip to Roseville Saturday, to shop for fathers day we happened to turn on the game and listen for a bit and right when we did he was up to the plate, then hit a homerun. I was yelling in the car (and taught my daughter the word "boo-yow!") that I think Reese understood how exciting a homerun is for him. So, upon dropping him off on Sunday, she told him, "Daddy hit a homerun for me!!" no pressure. He smiled and said, "OK." We kinda looked at each other like..."sure, that's easy enough..." After the door shut (Dallas never heard this part) she kept saying, "Daddy hit TWO homeruns for me." Well, she got her wish, he hit her a fathers day homer. (I later told him she requested two, but who's counting.
We went to the grocery store and bought all of our food to cook and I went home and slaved in the kitchen (very easy stuff but anytime I cook it's a form of slavery). Then, we headed to the game. There's lots of wives, girlfriends, kiddos so the team got us all a big suite. It was so much fun. We played up there until the 9th inning when we all got to go on the field with Daddy. Reese was so excited to see him down there waiting for her. They are best friends. I know I say it a lot but he really is just the best dad. He adores every little, tiny thing she does and always puts her first. He was meant to be a daddy. She played ball with him, then ran the bases. All of the families were having a ball together playing. We're on such a great team which really makes being away so much easier.
After the game, I went to the car and Reese went into the clubhouse with Daddy (where she has a blast hitting balls, getting snacks, etc.) I don't know what we're gonna do when she's too old. She is not going to understand, at all.
After that, we ran home, grabbed our food and headed to the party! The Carson's, Giese's, Macs & Tolleson's all had a fun grill out party to celebrate. Reese literally never sat still. Never ate a bite. They played ball, princess, make believe, ran around, played on the playground, it was so much fun to watch. All of the kids did great together too. We didn't leave until 10 and then Reese fell out at home. What a great day!! I wish I had more pics but I never stopped running my mouth long enough to get my camera going (come to think of it that's always how roll...camera or chatter, no in between). It was an awesome time! Game tonight again!
Here's pics from the game...family one...

Reese and Daddy running the bases (Dallas says she refused to actually run on the bases)...

Mac & Lisa...

Reese, Kenzie and Avery...(missing Gavin & Peyton)

Impossible to get all three looking and smiling...

Talking to Daddy about going into the clubhouse...

Walking around...

Sorry no pics at the cookout, we had way too much fun! Tomorrow the guys leave for Vegas, so the girls are planning out our days of cali fun!

Saturday, June 19, 2010

our week.

The past few days have been busy. Wednesday, we headed over to Lisa's house for a casserole dinner with McKenzie & Baleigh. The girls just played while the big girls talked. Then, Friday, Dallas took Reese to the field with him for a few hours (which she loves) while I met up with a friend from San Fran, Laura, whose hubby played with Dallas in 08. She made reservations at Waterboy in downtown Sac, a swanky little place that this chick hasn't had the fancy of eating at in quite a while. We had a great lunch, laughing and cutting up. I should have snapped a pic but I think I was too caught up in having an adult lunch! I picked up Reese from the field (she was beat red from playing) and we headed straight to gymnastics. She did really good but her and another little girl decided they would make up a few of their own gymnastics moves at each station. IT was half funny (especially to them) but I had to talk to her about it after.
After that, we showered and headed to Daddy's game. There are now a zillion wives & kids. Reese loves to be at the stadium. She danced once again and people had to come up after and tell her how much they loved watching her jam. No rhythm but it is really funny. She also loves to wave at her Daddy. She did that until I made her stop (Hi Daddy gets annoying over & over again). After the game all the kids were playing and Reese decided to push Kenzie out of her way. She's never done that (although a little girl did it to her at the park a few times a week ago) and I was so upset. I think Reese doesn't understand she is half her age and size but still, so upsetting for me. We spent yesterday kinda lounging (as I mourned my sweet little girl that existed the day before). We've talked about it and she keeps asking for Kenzie. So hard to explain that we don't push our friends. Believe me, there's a few people I'd love to knock over but I wouldn't be asking about them later. Reese doesn't understand, she just loves her.
Here's a crappy picture (I was too lazy to expose it right or get closer) of them heading into the clubhouse. She loves her daddy...

And some from gymnastics, she's in the back on the bar. I didn't have time to change her from the field to class, so no leotard this time...

Here's her partner in crime. They are discussing what they could do instead of bear walks like the teacher asked...

Log rolls...

bearwalks like she's supposed to do...

and the balance beam...

This morning I left my two babes in bed and Lisa and I met at the mall for a girls date! Whoo hoo! We went to see Sex and the City 2. I have felt like such an outcast and was dying to see it. I was so jealous when my girls in Atlanta went together so Lisa and I planned a morning date. It was so much fun. We both decided we could get really used to Saturday mornings sans kiddos. Father's Day tomorrow! We're having a bar-b-que!

Tuesday, June 15, 2010

baseball game

Reese and I headed to our first game at Raley Field last night. The weather here is perfect. I will say this, Sacramento is a great city to be "stuck" in. (that's my language I use when I miss my house and family) It is. Lots to do, great weather, awesome ballpark...the works. So, we get there and Reese spots Daddy on the big screen. She LOVES to see his face. She yells (and I mean yells) "Daaadddeeeee....that's your picture!!" I'm sure he heard her.
We found our seats quickly. Not hard to do. Remember in 08 when I blogged that you just look for the only group of girls that are dressed completely inappropriate for baseball? That always works. They almost always have on heels. Their hair is styled. They try to look really cool by drinking a beer (which by the way, I have still never done.) Well, my age has finally set in. They are no longer wearing jeans and heels, it's now booty shorts. (I know jeans shorts are in) Nothing will make you feel old like sitting with your kid singing and dancing, spilling drinks on you, while watching the girl next to you apply lipstick while looking in the mirror, sitting in her booty shorts. Times are a changing.
So, Reese loves the games. She found her Daddy and he waved and she was in heaven. She thought he was playing peekaboo from the dugout (unfortunately, he wasn't in on the game) so we spent alot of time waiting on him to "pop" out. Then, he came up to bat. She goes crazy. I have got to film it. It's hysterical. "Go Daddy!! Daaaaddeeee!! Go Daddy go!!" She has no clue everyone is looking at her. I'm equally as embarrassed as I am proud. (I think I have a lot more moments to look forward to like this in my future) Then, he knocked in a run and they cranked up the music. The girl got her jam on. Danced, spinning, laughed, jumped. She was feeling the music. I am not kidding, the entire section was laughing at her. She loved it. It really was hysterical. If she ever does it again, I promise to video.
The whole night was followed by some reeseisms:
I was singing "Hit the road Jack" with everyone at the stadium and she looks at me with a concerned face..."Who's Jack?" I heard that at least 10 more times.
Then, while waiting on Daddy to come get her to take her into the clubhouse, he came walking out with ice (pretty much all over his body) and I muttered, "Babe, you are jacked up." Later, Reese looked at Daddy and said, "Why you all jacked up?" Dallas gave me the stink eye. I have got to watch what I say...
Reese on our way into the stadium...

This was her "dance floor."

Wish us luck. She has swim again today. All she says is, "I'm not going back. That was not fun for me, mama." What do I do?

Saturday, June 12, 2010

weekend.

Yesterday, Reese woke up and quickly determine her agenda for the day. "Mama, I want to go jump and go get a cupcake (have I mentioned we have the best bakery just miles from our place?)." I like her thinking. One surely knocks out the other.
So, we did just that. We sat, out on the front deck of Freeport Bakery and people watched. We made friends with a couple and their dog Max (who loved his prime seat next to Reese...he got almost a full cupcake himself...) After that, we excitedly headed to jump.
There it was in huge letters...CLOSED for a private party.
If only she could read (so she would actually believe me) or understand. She didn't cry when I told her (I wish I had it on video). She just went limp, her arms flapped and she said, "My first day is ruined." I think she meant the whole day is ruined? Or something of that liking.
To make the situation better, we headed next door to the Aquatics Center. She's signed up for swim when we get back to Georgia but I keep wanting to get her in some while we are here too.
Literally, as I am paying, I look and Reese has taken off her socks, shoes and is about to pull off her pants...I yelled, "what are you doing?" She says to me..."I'm gonna swim!"
Once again, I found myself giving disappointing news. I did manage to get her in for her first lesson today. She was sooooo excited. Talked about it all night. Talked about it the whole way there. Walked right into the pool. Then, her excitement turned into a distraught 2 year old. Literally, she freaked. She loves the pool, loves the water. She kept saying the lady was going to put her under. I think it was a new place, a lady she did not know and the fact that it was private. Maybe other kiddos would have helped? Anyhoo, they tell me to go into the waiting area and watch through the glass. I literally sat, watched my daughter scream (the kind where your heart breaks) called Dallas, called my mom and then, of course, took a picture. One day she'll thank me for this, I'm sure...(or use it as evidence of abuse in court) I shot this through the glass and I had to wait until she was not facing me in order to abstain from being spotted. You can't tell but she is making the swim instructor deaf in this picture...
When I came to get her, the lady explained they all do this...yadda, yadda and Reese said, "Mom, I want to go home and watch Dora." She never wants to sit and watch stuff. Poor baby. In the car she asked, "Mom, how many more did you sign me up for?" Oh my gosh, seriously? Like it was punishment. We headed to Panera for lunch (which we had to get to go, Reese now dictates whether we eat in or not...) and the cashier asked why she had been crying. Reese replies, "I don't want to go back to swim lessons again." The lady gave her a free cookie and instantly, my sobbing child was tear free.
We finished our day with a "girls date" at CPK. Can I just tell you how much I LOVE our time together? Just US. She is at the best age. I love that I get all of her attention and she gets all of mine. I would not change this for the world...
Here's a shot I took after gymnastics the other day when we were playing in the back yard...

We pick up Daddy tonight! She's so excited. She just walked in and said, "I miss Dad so much. I need him." Perfect timing.

Reese.

My girl.
Lots of Reese funnies to document.
First off, she is really into red lights. She yells, "That light is Red! That means STOP!!"
Then, "Green means GO, Mama!! DOE!!"
And finally, Yellow means "Slow Down, Lady!"
My drives are filled with a 2 year old giving me driving instructions.
The best is when I am in the turn lane stopped (because my light is red.) She can only see the light for the other lanes that are green. I hear, (yelling) "Doe Mama!! Doe! It's green!!"
It's really fun. Especially when I am trying to talk on my phone, which I am bound to get a ticket for very soon. California and their laws...

Another one.
Dallas and I are no longer "Mommy" and "Daddy." We are "Dad" and "Mom."
She even says it in a northern accent. It's so weird coming from a 2 year old. Dallas hates it (but laughs everytime) and will only respond with, "Daughter...." which then makes her laugh...it's a vicious cycle.

Today, I let her watch a movie (which I never do but the chick is so worn out. I run her everywhere) and I went to check on her (I was editing) and we are back in slime land. Oh yes. This time she did change it up. She found Dallas' Aquaphor. A full can. Nothing is left in that can. She was drenched in it. Face, hair, neck. Her response? "I yook beautiful!!" And then she spun around...

We went to Fairytale Town today (which thankfully we get in free for now since the PR manager found my fairytale post when I wasn't private and asked if they could use them in their publications! So cool! We get to go to Fairytale Town free!! We'll take it!! I'm thinking of going in Nordstrom tomorrow and taking some pics, think I can get some free stuff from them???" A gal can dream...) Anyhoo, she seriously looked like her hair was sopping wet. It wasn't. It's as dry as can be. It's been super conditioned with Aquaphor. She's such a trendsetter.

Today at Fairytale Town (while we were having so much fun together sans camera) she stopped, mid step to pout. I said, "If you are going to pout we are going home. Now put a smile on your face." Know what she said??? "I've lost my smile mama. Let me know if you find it."
SERIOUSLY....

Then, we were being princesses sitting in the princess carriage (her Snow White since she looks just like her) and all of the sudden with the saddest face she says, "We have to get out." Wanna know why? Her answer..."Because we don't look fancy."
We got out & never went back.
I thought I looked pretty good today.

As if that's not enough, we went to feed the ducks and walk the pond in the park and I found an amphitheatre. I went and sat in the stands and she eagerly climbed on stage and began spinning and twirling doing her "balletnastics" (not my word, hers) when all of the sudden she stops. Pout AGAIN. And says, "I can't do this, I have no curtain."

I can't make this stuff up.

Tonight there was a fly in the house and only "Dad" is allowed to get it out. I had to pretend to have a conversation with Dallas (while he was in portland, on a ballfield) asking him to come get this fly.

What has my life become?

This is from my camera phone in the fairytale town tiki hut. Can you see her hair?
Happy Friday!

Thursday, June 10, 2010

girls weekend...

I can't even tell you how much fun we had in Fresno. We never took a break. (that's a good thing) If we were awake, we were with Veronica or Michelle. What a wonderful time with great friends.
We spent Sunday with Veronica having lunch, etc. Then, after the game I took her maternity photos. She's beautiful pregnant so I can't wait to edit them! I still haven't taken one pic of us with Veronica as much as we've hung out...gotta work on that!
Every other day we were with the Woods all day. The girls played from 3-10pm and literally went non stop. They played so incredibly good together too. We just sat and talked and had to go make sure people were alive (or not burning down the house). They played princesses dress up (a Reese favorite), doctor, in the sandbox, at the park, they ate together, it was so cute. Only one time, Reese walked in and said, "I don't want to play with Brynlee anymore..." I looked at her like, "What???" Then, (and this answered the question of why did my daughter just say that???) she said, "Well, if I can have one pony snack, then we will be best friends." Awesome, Reese. Not a way to win friends.
I wish I had more pics to share, but honestly, I just enjoyed spending time with them, I only took a few pics. We all went to dinner (Jake & Haelyn included) one night for yummy pizza. I seriously I have 20 pics of them hugging. I had to make them stop...
Another...
Playing in Brynlee's room...(I think this was a combo of Princess/Doctor, since Bryn is sleeping)
Beautiful baby Haelyn, who I swear, never cried the entire time I was there...(As a mom of a colic baby for a year, I was baffled!!) She's so sweet...

Reese loved their sandbox...
I think she would have stayed out there all day...
The girls making cakes or whatever. They talked the entire time...
They were very serious about their jobs...
Having some snacks together & catching up on the latest gossip...
Nikki took Reese to the park while I did their photo shoot. Afterwards we all had to go...
They played so cute together...

Haelyn got in some park time too...

Wish I had more to share but I'll have some great ones of Michelle & the girls later!! Thanks so much for the most fabulous time ever!! I'm so thankful for our friendship over the years. I feel like just yesterday we were keeping each other entertained in Salt Lake & Anaheim...my how things have changed!
We got in from Fresno at 2 am Thursday morning, had a good family off day with Dallas, then today, took him to the field to leave for a 4 day road trip. Reese had gymnastics today and we spent a couple hours at the park. We are ready for some sleep!

Saturday, June 5, 2010

game!


I have so much to blog! Reese and I drove Friday night to Fresno to pick up Daddy at the airport! Whoo hoo! We've been non stop, we had lunch with the Woods & played, then headed to the game last night and got to hang with Veronica...so much fun! We're headed to lunch with Veronica, game, then I'm shooting Veronica and Horacio's maternity pics! I'll blog more later!

Friday, June 4, 2010

gymanstics & park time.

Some pics from the week:
This is where we spend at least 2 hours of every day....
Every kid plays with this over and over again...Reese likes to sling sand every.time.
Thursday she had gymnastics. A few pics. Sideways on the beam...
Listening to Miss. Amanda...
On the trampoline...
Practicing her tucks...
The bounce house (where she always yells "Hi Mommy!!"...

Friday, Mac kenzie & Lisa came over for spaghetti & some pool time. We were having so much fun when Dallas called and said, "get packed!!" We drove 3 hours to Fresno, picked up Daddy (where Reese ran across the entire airport to land in his arms and yell..."DADDY!!!") He melted. We grabbed some dinner at the sketchiest Domino's I've ever been to and went back to the hotel. So excited to all be back together again...12 days is a long time!

Wednesday, June 2, 2010

zoo.

Today, we went to the zoo with Lisa & Mackenzie. It was our first mama/daughter trip. I have to be honest, I could care less about the zoo. I know it's bad, but really? Half the animals are in a cave sleeping when you walk by and ugh, seeing them all caged, it's heartbreaking. But since we knew the girls would like it (and it is our daily goal to never sit still) we went. It's a cute zoo but really small and it's so hot here. We saw the animals, Reese liked the jaguar, rode a train and had some yucky, overpriced lunch. It was a fun day with all of 4 of us!!
On our way home, we hit up Freeport Bakery. (Last week I was mentioning diet books, this week, cupcakes...story of my life...) This bakery is amazing! The best cupcakes EVER! We sat and let the girls enjoy their cupcakes (and cover themselves in chocolate) and laughed. So fun.
A quick pic of the girls...

Having a loving moment in front of the tiger...

Perhaps the best part of the zoo, the choo choo train. Reese loves a good mini train ride...

And all four of us...

Here's the girls at Freeport Bakery. Look at my child, can't put the cupcake down for a picture...always attractive.

Here's Kenzie with her (cute) face covered in chocolate...

Another day down! Tomorrow the girls are coming over to our house for dinner and backyard fun (after gymnastics). Friday we get to see Daddy (hopefully) Michelle, Brynlee, Haelyn & Veronica! Fun weekend ahead!

Tuesday, June 1, 2010

past few days...

Still no Daddy. Geez!! I'm sorry, I am a good loner, my jobs always put me in random cities, new people, I loved it. Being in a city where you know no one and can't just lounge by the pool or watch Reese Witherspoon movies all day, not so easy. Reese and I are each others shadows these days. I love it but I'll admit, I'm not used this whole, "going on the road" thing. It's for the birds. I'm trying to be supportive and I just miss Dallas so much when we are so far away.
Saturday, we lounged in the backyard, playing, so fun! The weather is getting super hot so we are getting in some good backyard time. After that, we headed into downtown Sacramento to the IMAX to see Shrek 4 in 3d. I so wish I had my camera. The 3d glasses were HUGE on her and hilarious. The girl sat in her seat, glued and never took them off (except during a dance scene...a gal's gotta jam). She was so cute. She loved it!
Then, we headed for a girls dinner at CPK...took this with my camera...
Here's some pool pics...
She has to fill up the pool, not me...

Being goofy...

Ta Da!
We've been at the park literally every free minute. We leave disgusting and Reese is in heaven. Today, Lisa and Kenzie were back in town, so we headed over for park time, playing and dinner. Lisa made a yummy healthy soup that we loved and the girls proceeded to not eat (and Reese was nice enough to vocalize it) but it was so good! We always have a blast with them and the girls wear each other out. Reese told Kenzie this was their "sleeping chair" Kenzie just does what the princess says...
In the park playing ball & sweating up a storm...
Tongue out. My child...
playing...


So much fun! Reese fell asleep before we even got home. Tomorrow we are headed to the zoo!