Saturday, January 31, 2009

the fall out.



Last week my sister was over and Reese took a good nap for us. Boo was helping me straighten up (yes, she is #1 sister & aunt) while I was doing what I do best...edit pictures. Reese woke up and Boo took her to be changed, etc in her room. I heard silence for a while afterwards which is very unusual. Usually Reese turns on her entertainer switch with Boo here. Next thing I know, Boo comes to get me..."You have to see this!!" Reese had went over to her PB chair and laid her head down and FALLEN OUT!! Hilarious. She slept there for a LONG time. I took pictures (Nice of me, right??) we laughed hysterically, she never woke up. If I hadn't seen her breathing, I might have been worried. She hardly naps much less two in one day, on a chair! That's what she's here for...laughs.
We had a good one that day.

Wednesday, January 28, 2009

reason #967 that I love my husband...


I walk into my office (where he and Reese apparently held their evening "trash mom's office party") and this is what I see.  Usually Reese makes you trace her hands and feet (she loves this and will insist you do it over and over again) but I guess Dallas decided to display his artistic talents on her etch a sketch.  
I never asked but I'm assuming this sketch is threefold: THIS is where we spend our days, our daughter THINKS she is a celebrity living in Hollywood and our lives with her are like a sitcom.  

I'm sure glad we get each other...

Tuesday, January 27, 2009

baby girl.

My sister got Reese this adorable hat last week. I loved it! Today we threw it on her for what I thought was going to be a really good shot. It looked good on her here...

But as soon as soon as I went to shoot, I realized the hat is a little too big. Within minutes she was blinded by the really, really cute hat!

We gave up and ended up just playing outside. We'll put this in the "next fall " category and try again. Thanks so much Boo for the hat and coming to play with Reese! We love having you! Dallas loves his 3rd wife (Gigi is his 2nd). I have been editing all last night and today and I'm finally closing in. Yay! Reese has been so funny these past few days. She says BOO clear as day and has added DONE to her vocabulary. At the end of every meal, she hands you her plate (and you MUST take it immediately) and says "done!" Such a big girl. Dallas, Reese and I all went to dinner tonight and we just sat and watched her wondering where the time went. She eats with a fork perfectly, drinks from a regular cup with a straw, asks for MORE and of course, tells you she's DONE! She's growing up too fast!

Monday, January 26, 2009

photography Q & A

Ah....it's here.  It's what you've been waiting for.  I've gotten your emails reminding me to not forget about this post.  It almost feels like you're waiting on some really juicy gossip.  What's really going on with Britney?  Is A-Rod on drugs or is he seriously choosing the weirdest and way too old lady over his wife and two young children?  Will Justin marry Jessica?  Is Jennifer Aniston really happy? What are Jenn's photography secrets?  
Sad.  I threw myself right in the mix.  That's what happens when you spend the majority of your time with your husband and 18 month old.  You begin to believe that everything about you matters...people are really interested.  Well, US weekly worthy or not, here it comes.
Grab a cup of joe or in my case, sweet tea, and get ready for a lengthy post.  I'm going to try and help.  I know some of you are beginners and just do this for your albums and blog.  You just want to take better pictures.  I've got about six pros that have been emailing for guidance and I'm no expert but I can share what I do.  I love my craft!  I'm obsessed with every shot. Working to nail it in camera and edit it to really "pop".  I'll keep this very basic so that I don't lose the majority of you, I've answered a lot of the more advanced people via email.  Without further adieu...

Oh! There are lots of misspellings etc, I didn't take the time to go back and proof.  Sorry!

What camera do you shoot with?
I started out 5 years ago with a Nikon D70.  I loved it! It was my first DSLR and it was a great camera.  I was just "taking pictures" then (I believe there is a major difference in picture taking and actual photography) but I enjoyed my camera so much.  I sold it last year and it really held it's value.  I wanted to go to Canon.  My mom shot Canon, so we could share lenses.  Also, the camera that suited me best was the 5d.  So, I knew I wanted to stay in the canon family.  I didn't want to fork out the 5d moola so I got the new 40D (it had just come out) and I love my 40D. It's awesome.  No complaints.  As my business grew and I'd been dreaming of the 5d for so long, I really knew I needed it.  The new 5d Mark II came out in October and was really hard to get (impossible) and my mom, dad & sweet hubby surprised me Christmas morning with it!  I love it!!  Really it's the full frame sensor and the high iso capabilities that make it so unreal. So far, I've noticed my lenses are quite better on it too.  I'll keep you posted as I shoot more with it. Also, (this is for pros) when you are a professional and going into clients homes you don't want a client to have a better camera than you, who they are paying to shoot their children's pictures.  Not that they can get out of it what you can (I hope if you are a pro) but still, it's an investment and they are hiring quality.  Sorry, that's just a side note.

Canon or Nikon?  Which is better?
The question everyone wants to know...There really is not one that is better.  Everyone has there reasons and if you asked 20 pros this you'd get 20 different answers.  My opinion?  Go with the one that fits your needs. Obviously, if you already have an investment in Canon or Nikon lenses, stay in that family.  You can interchange lenses with any camera as long as it's in that family.  I can't put a canon lens on a Nikon camera.  Think of your needs.  For me, canon was the only option.  I wanted the 5d.  I don't like Nikon's comparison.  Also, for entry level, canon's entry level is better than Nikon's (but it's a higher price).  But, Nikon has Ashton....very important!! I do recommend staying with one of these two.  The majority of pros all shoot Nikon or Canon. 

Why get a point & shoot also?  Which kind?
Believe me, you don't want to lug your DLSR everywhere with you.  You will miss some great moments.  Point & Shoots are great.  They serve their purpose.  Keep it in your diaper bag or purse.  Outside they get some decent shots too.  Another one of my opinions, but Canon by far has the better point and shoot than Sony & Nikon.  I have a Sony cybershot (they were the cutest, coolest ones to me 2 years ago when Dallas' got it for me, I bought based on looks...oops) and I like it but canon's are much better.

I want an entry level DSLR camera.  I don't want to spend to much money since I'm not trying to start a business but I want to take better pictures and be able to change lenses.  Which one should I get?
Depends on the money.  Like I said, I love Canon's Rebel series.  They are awesome for beginners.  It does cost more than Nikon's entry level.  I'm not as up and up on Nikon but they make the D40 which has been out for a while but it's much cheaper than the rebel.  It's a good entry level camera but not as good as the rebel.  I could be wrong, but it might be the D60 that's more comparable.  The D80 just came out and I think it is right there with my 40D.  If you are just trying to take better pics, have fun, grow, etc.  then stick to the entry level cameras. Everyone thinks it's the camera that makes the shot.  I guess I'll be blunt.  If I traded cameras with someone who just "takes pics" and they had the rebel, I'd get a better pic with their rebel that they would with my 5d.  It's knowing photography.  So don't go spend a fortune on a camera that won't benefit you.  Go to the spa!  

What is your go to lens?  Do you use a different one for indoor and outdoor?
My 50mm 1.2.  This is a great portrait lens.  Whether you have a Nikon or Canon, get yourself a 50mm 1.8.  They are around $120 (give or take) and they are great.  Don't buy the 1.4 unless you're a pro.  There isn't that major of a difference.  This lens is inexpensive and awesome. You'll get some great shots, even those of you who just pic up your camera and shoot and don't understand photography, it will make your pictures better.  I loved my 1.4!  On a side note, Ashley and I learned that it is not so good on the Nikon d40.  I don't know why in the world Nikon made a camera that doesn't let you shoot in auto focus with a lens!  Check this out if you have that camera before you buy. I know it works with Canon's.  Also, make sure you buy a Canon lens if you have Canon and vice versa.  I use my 85mm primarily outdoors.  Just for distance. I love both of these lenses.  Check bhphoto.com,  I buy everything through them!


What's in your camera bag?
Well, My 40D and 50mm 1.4 are in my office on standby for backup f I need it.  My gear is as follows:
5d mark II
50mm 1.2 L (LOVE IT!!)
85mm 1.8
24-70 L (DON'T LOVE IT!)
100mm 2.8 macro
28mm 1.8 
580 EX flash (never use)

What kind of bag do you use?
Jill E.  I love it.  It looks like a purse.  I may have to get a rolling bag soon.  I'm kinda busting out.  They make really cute little ones it you have just your camera and a couple lenses.  

Where did you get your camera strap?
It's over in my side bar---------------> I love it!  It gets lots of compliments!

What do you edit your pics with?
Photoshop CS3.  I open them in Bridge and sort them accordingly.  Elements is a great program for beginners and non pros.  Believe me, do not go spend money on CS2 or 3 unless you know photoshop.  It's a lot to tackle.  Not worth your money, Elements is inexpensive and good.   Remember, you can make a good picture better in ps but you cannot fix a bad picture.  Lots of people try!  Believe me!  It is bad news....

A side note on this (my soapbox) without sounding too abrupt.  The way you edit your pics is your choice, your style.  I am just giving my opinion.  There are a lot of people that get carried away.  Remember simple is better. Keep it clean.  I see this all the time. Cute shot.  Is it properly exposed? No. Sharp? No. but they aren't a pro.  That's ok. Then they take that picture and put some funky actions on it that make it lose it's star quality.  Just my opinion, but don't get too carried away. I know Mac has things in iphoto and lots of programs offer easy clicks, but look at the shot...does it need anything more than a color boost?  Actions in photoshop should enhance the shot, not make it distracting.

What kind of computer do you use?
I have a MAC.  I love it!  Once you go MAC, you'll never go back.  (Sorry, was that corny or inappropriate???)

What's your dream lens? Next purchase?
I actually just got it.  Mom traded in some equipment and I had dropped my 50mm (got it fixed) and we got a huge discount, so I splurged.  It's the 50mm 1.2  L series.  The L series glass is amazing.  I've only shot a couple of days with it but so far...amazing! I'm good for now.  No more big purchases for a while.  I would like a fisheye.  Not really a big need, but if someone was giving them away...

All of your pictures have such depth and look almost reflective.  Is it the lighting or editing?
Both.  Mainly lighting.  You have to start with a properly exposed, great shot, then editing can enhance your pic.  Lighting is a lot of a great picture.  This takes a lot of time to master.  I don't use flash at all and really need to learn it better but have no desire.

Did you take lessons?  And if so, do you recommend them?
Hmmmm...I signed up for a class in Charleston last year (6 weeks) and we had to leave for Spring Training so I went to 3 classes.  I loved it.  However, I learned 90 percent of what I know from books, websites, etc. I am self taught.  I do plan on going to school and getting an associates in photography one day.  Oh! I spent a lot of time on ilovephotography.com.  It's great!

Do you use a backdrop for any of your photos?  What kind?
Just newborns.  A black or white blanket.  Nothing special. I'm kinda over those shots though.I've got some visions I'd like to play out.  I shoot my next newborn in Spring Training (players wife) and I am so excited.  Haven is going to get to be a supermodel in her first few days of life!  Look for more vibrant things to come on my site in 09!

Do you recommend any books or tutorials?
For photoshop, Scott Kelby is the BOMB.  I bought every book there ever was and a lot of them are too basic.  However, every good photographer has read UNDERSTANDING EXPOSURE. It's a great start.

Where do you get your images printed?
I have a pro site that all of my client work gets printed at and a separate company for canvas' that specialize.  You have to be a pro for these.  But, I get all my 4x6 printed at mpix.  They are the best.  I highly recommend them.  They are the best non-pro lab you can get. They are easy to order with and fast too.  Think about them before you head to CVS, Wally World or Wolf. 

How do you get the subject in your photos to be SO crisp with the background blurry?
Okay, I get this one about twice a week.  I don't to lose all of you (which are most) that don't know photography, so I'll keep it basic.  I think everyone thinks there's a quick blur the background setting on their camera.  I wish!  No, it's understanding aperture, the triangle, DOF from your subject, it all comes into play.  It would take a long time to get you through that, so I'll keep it basic.  The closer you are to your subject the blurrier the background will be.  Also, a portrait lens ill help with this automatically (even those who don't have a clue can get a blurry background with a good lens and a small DOF).  For those of you who understand, the wider your aperture the less background you will see.  I hover in the 2's, especially inside.

Do shoot in manual or automatic?
I shoot 100 percent of the time in manual.  I probably should throw it in ap or even automatic so that I don't miss shots trying to get my settings, but I can't.  Call it the perfectionist in me or because I feel like you aren't a photographer if you're shooting in auto (b/c you're not), but I can't do it.  A lot of pros use ap, but I'm a manual kinda girl.  I love the challenge!

I hope this helps.  I am glad to answer questions.  It's hard b/c lots of you just grab your camera and take pictures.  This is great!  Enjoy it!  I don't want to lose you by diving too deep (which can easily happen).  Lots of photographers have written or spoken about this so I won't harp.  In this age where everyone has a digital camera, there are LOTS of people claiming to be "photographers". It's not regulated which is sad.  Yes, everyone should have a good camera, enjoy it, take shots every day, throw them in an album, but that's not a photographer.  This happens a lot.  You get a good camera, a few relatives say "You're great! Take some of my family" Next thing you know, you are a photographer.  Be careful with this.  It took me a LONG time to say those words.  Endless hours, lots of money invested, time, sweat and tears, lots of other pros critiquing my work.  It is an insult to other pros.  Do the work that it entails before you make the decision.  You never want to sell work that isn't CUSTOM PHOTOGRAPHY.  You will look back (if you ever realize) and cringe.  If this is your passion and you want to pursue it treat it like any other career.  Educate yourself so that you can stand by every image and take pride in your work.  I'll encourage anyone but being honest, this is an expensive career path if you want to offer top quality, so consider that.  Also, think about hiring a pro.  As soon as these braces come off that's what I'm doing!  All pros hire pros!  Take your snapshots, put them in albums, even 5x7's but for your home make 8x10's and larger (please make 16x20's and up and canvases) pro quality.  There is a MAJOR difference. It's worth the investment.  At the same time (especially in this economy) research the pro.  Are they with a professional org (I am working on this now it's hard b/c I am part-time).  Is there work exceptional to you? (You'll know by looking)  Is it your style?  Can they capture your kiddo as you see them?  All things to consider.  I'm not discouraging....this is an awesome career!! You have to Know the Rules before you can Break the Rules. It is half education-knowing all there is to know about offering pro quality prints and half the "eye"for it to make you great! Don't we all want to be GREAT?!  I am so excited that I am (hopefully) heading to my first major workshop in May.  It's the best of the best!  I can't wait to get inspired and soak up all their knowledge.
Also, remember the whole inspiration vs. imitation rule.  Make sure you have a style and you stick to it.  Use others work to inspire you, motivate you, not to copy. (Or if you do, you better give them a shout out on your blog!)

Hopefully this helps everyone!  Enjoy your camera no matter the brand.  Play with it.  Enjoy capturing those moments with your family...that's what it's for.  I'll do another one again if you are interested!

Happy Click of the Shutter!

get ready!

It's coming! The photography Q&A is on it's way tonight!

Sunday, January 25, 2009

whew...

I am sitting at my desk, 3 photo shoots behind me, 1200 pictures to edit, a diet pepsi, a naked kid in diapers running around telling me and dallas and boo to HIDE (she watches where you hide) and I am ready. Ready to get after all my shots. Have I mentioned how much I love my job? I've been really blessed with my career paths. Medical Sales, Cheerleader, Personal Trainer to the Stars (aka all my homegirls in Arizona) and now Photographer. It's weird but they all make me better as a photographer. I love interacting with clients. I love that I get to carryout my visions. Talking to them for months on the computer, pulling into their driveway not sure what they look like or what kinda cool images we're gonna get that day. It's really a rush. And the kids? Oh....I love working with them. With that said, none of it would be possible with out my crew. My Daddy came down and spent the night last night. He kept Reese all day all by himself so Dallas could workout and I could travel to North Georgia for two shoots. We all went to church today and Boo got here tonight. My mom, dad, sis and hubby are awesome! Only trouble is when we get to Spring Training I am in trouble. She's gonna look around, realize I ALL there is, and scream! Good thing all of them are coming down for vacation! A quick shot of my girl and her wonderful papa!
Keep checking out my business site. There will be lots this week! I love comments on there too. Don't be scared to give me a shout out!

Friday, January 23, 2009

Lots to do...

We had a fun little Friday here at the house of the McPherson's. Reese went to school. I got in some quality computer time full of editing. Dallas got in his long workouts. We had a fun afternoon too. We did a little light reading...

This is one of our favorite books (maybe mine more than hers). It's also a really cute decoration in her room. We have Purplelicious on display in her playroom.

Then, we got in some good ole "cheese" time! I love those little chiclets!

Stepping on our lovely bow..

Love this face...


My mom always has that camera...

Then, we played in the tunnel which she makes everyone go through no matter the age or size!


Hiding and showing off the pigtail...

Got this at IKEA. It's guaranteed fun (and easily transportable if your in the baseball or Gypsy kinda lifestyle). Happy Weekend!

Thursday, January 22, 2009

my girl


Is this not the most serious Reese face ever? I found it on my hard drive (I was scrounging around looking for an acceptable pic to post since I was MIA last night) and it cracked me up. So serious, which Reese is usually the farthest from this look.  Dallas and I enjoyed back to back nights of time together and Reese stayed with her BFF, Gigi.  Today I had a really fun family I got to shoot (and have 3 more this weekend) so I've got lots of computer one on one time coming up!  I promise I am working on the photo post.  I've gotten a lot of emails asking when it's coming.  It's in the works!  
On another note, I forgot to post my favorite girl's stats at 18 months.  Her head was in the 84%, weight 32 pounds 99% and height 33 1/2in. 94%.  Always topping the charts.  Our ped. had fun running around the office with Reese while Reese showed everyone she could "bat her eyes" at them.  This is one of her funny tricks. She's doing great and tonight she's at her Aunt Donna's playing with the Braddy bunch.  She loves those super Braddy's!

Tuesday, January 20, 2009

trip to Boo's

Family. It's wonderful. I am reminded of exactly why we moved home, so often. Gigi, Dallas, Reese & I all headed to Boo's last Friday afternoon. It's a short 2 hour trek and we all went to Famous Dave's (a place I absolutely wore out when I was prego but there's not one near us now) and had a disappointing dinner. Shortly thereafter I started to feel a little crappy, that set the mood for the next 4 days. Today was my best day so far, but still pretty bad. I am really weak and trying to entertain an 18 month old while you are falling out....not so good. She has been really sweet though. Saturday we shopped a little, spent time together and Boo's sister-in-law, Anna brought her cute kiddos over for a freezing cold photo shoot! I can't wait to get them edited and on the biz blog. It was a great trip!
Friday night, all of us hanging out. Reese loves playing with Daddy & Uncle D.

And with Aunt Boo and Gigi around I got some good r&r. They are awesome!

No telling what this conversation is all about...

With Uncle D, you can guarantee some laughs. They all had so much fun on Saturday up in his music room banging on the drums. Dallas and David even got in some guitar lessons (teaching each other!!).

Wish I had more pics, but we had a blast. Thanks Boo & David! I've got lots and lots of editing and 4 shoots this week, so I should get the business blog hoppin in the next 24 hours! Man, I've missed blogging...

Monday, January 19, 2009

sick.

I'm getting over a mean stomach bug, so no post tonight.  Tomorrow, I'll recap our trip to my sister's. Have a good night.  I'm going to be with Dallas and a movie. Doesn't get much better than that!

Friday, January 16, 2009

so true.


She's onto me. She's sporting this shirt, I turn the corner and she is standing, dancing on her daddy's guitar. And, of course, (after I made her get down) I blogged it.

To make me happy, she sat down and even gave a fake smile for my camera.
We're off to spend the weekend with my sister and bro-in-law in Evans.  Fun!  Have a great weekend!

Thursday, January 15, 2009

cooking with reese.

5
It could be a show. (A really, really messy show) She is loving her time in the kitchen these days. I knew this would be an instant hit for her that's why I was anxiously awaiting Santa's arrival. I'll give ya the scoop on it too for all the girl's mama who might be making a kitchen purchase in the near future. I did my research and I must admit (shamefully) that I am, in fact, a a little picky. Maybe it was because this was her main gift, because I had to stare at it everyday, or I looked at the pottery barn catalog one too many times, but I was dead set on a wooden kitchen. I was not paying those PBK prices. $800 for a kids kitchen? Let me think...no. So, I started looking in August and I found the cutest one by KidKraft. It was a full 2 piece set with a fridge included, looked like Pottery Barn, wood, only $179. Then, weeks before Christmas I get the saddest email ever: BACKORDERED until Feb. 09. What? Does Santa have to deal with mess like this and on a time crunch? Luckily, Santa came through and on Christmas morning Reese (and her picky mama) got the Kidkraft wooden kitchen their hearts desired. Now we are on the lookout for a fridge to match. Maybe for a birthday present. Hope this helps! Lots of places have them with free shipping too. And now onto the pictures. Just a few...

These never stay this neat and tidy (nor do the other food, plates, silverware, pots and pans...)

If only water actually came out of the faucet...

She's really good at remembering to wash her hands...

It's freezing here in Georgia! Hope everyone is staying warm!

Wednesday, January 14, 2009

where is pointer?

where is pointer? Here I am. Here I am. Reese loves her nursery rhymes these days. She's very into doing hand gestures especially while snacking with a mouth full of food. This is multitasking at it's best...

"How are you today sir?" "Very well, I thank you."

"Run and hide, run and hide."

She uses her pointer finger even when she's sings about pinky...

So cute. She's really, really fun these days. I am loving 18 months!!

Tuesday, January 13, 2009

draaaammmmmaa

What is it with us girls? Nothing in life is simple. In my family we overreact about a lot of stuff. I'm worried that it has already trickled down to my daughter...



Just to clear this up (since your not getting sound with these) she is freaking out, not laughing! Turns out putting jewelry on is much easier than removing it. Girls.

Monday, January 12, 2009

Goofy.

If there is one thing Reese is....it's goofy. Silly? Funny? Dramatic? Yep! If only laughing gave you a six pack, I'd be ripped. She cracks us up. Yesterday after church, the three of us just played our hearts out. I guess her puppy looked naked because we had to put exactly what she picked out for him on him, immediately.

We switched hats a lot. She finally settled on the "firehouse subs" hat from dinner last night. She's so loving. Even her animals get kisses and hugs.

Poor guy, Reese giveth then taketh away...

Does this look better on me???

I think it does. This is the face of a very serious firechick.


Such a crack up. We really can't get enough of our reesie cup. Here's to a great week!

Sunday, January 11, 2009

enjoying my papa.



Thanks Daddy, for a wonderful day yesterday. Papa watched Reese while Dallas and I went to the mall, then brought Reese to meet up and let us all spend some time together. We had a great family day. I love you Daddy and Reese adores you. You were meant to be a grandpa!

Friday, January 9, 2009

going to grandma's...


The past two nights Reese has spent the night with her Gigi.  Mainly because I am a little under the weather and have mounds of photos to edit but it's really because they are best buddies. Mom loves having Reese at her house.  I grabbed my camera last night when Reese walked in my office to tell me bye (quickly grabbed which is why these picks are snapshots).  She was loaded down.  It was as if Gigi told her she was never coming back and was not allowed to pack a suitcase.  Movie?  check.  Drink?  check.  Bracelet?  check.  This is her trying to wave to me while still clinging to her cherished belongings.
..

Donna is over tonight so Dallas and I can have a date night.  Tomorrow we are headed to Papa's house for a fun day with him followed by the Panthers tomorrow night!  Yay!

Thursday, January 8, 2009

room with a view.


Nothing quite like looking out the window and seeing this.  Papa and his #1 girl out for a stroll.