Sunday, August 31, 2008

My world.

It's 10pm.
I'm awake with my camera (shocker).
My two loves are peaceful, resting.
I'm not sure if anything else could bring a calm to my heart and a smile to my face more than this.

Well maybe if we were in Hawaii, in a resort and not a Holiday Inn.
Still, I'll take it. I swear, I stood, propped against the wall and took this moment in. I'm glad I captured it for you. This is, exactly, what photography is all about.
Scratch that.
This is what life is all about.

Saturday, August 30, 2008

Music City Recap

Hmmm, where do I begin? This is why I try and blog daily, you forget the small details that all tie in together to make a day's memory. With that said, I'll try my best.
Tuesday, Dallas, Reese and I slept in, then she played in the hotel room for a bit while Daddy got a little more sleep. He kept trying, but she'd bring him a new book and plop it on his restful head every two seconds. He was cracking up at how much she loves reading (or pretending to read while listening to you). She will sit and flip through a book and jibber jabber for a good bit of time. Once Daddy arose, we were off. We did some shopping and had lunch, then dropped Daddy at the ballpark. We opted to not go to the game. The weather was yucky and that ballpark is not kid friendly. Instead, I took Reese to dinner, then we headed to the Davis Kidd bookstore. Okay, these are the best. We went there everyday for at least an hour. I guess they are only in Tennessee, which really stinks, because we would go every other day if there was one here. It has a great kids play area. Toys, books and a confined space where mom's can relax and watch their kiddos. She played for an hour and a half and I met some nice moms. By the way, it is weird to me making friends because you are a mom. That's a whole nother blog, but I feel really grown up when you talk to girls you would otherwise just smile at and be on your way, all because your kids are near the same age. Whatever, I'll revisit that later.
After playing, I gave Reese a bath and we went down to the lobby to let her wear herself out before bed. Reese is seriously running now. She is lightning fast and busy. I did not sit down in Nashville, nope, no for a split second. Back on track, the Holiday Inn is being renovated so it was a mess and the lobby was no exception. She was playing and everyone in the hotel was loving her running around. I bent down to pick up a book I dropped and she leaned on the tablecloth of a lobby table and fell onto the metal part of the table. Gasp. Reese usually never cries when she falls. Even when it sounds bad and I freak out, she cries for a second and then laughs. This time she was balling. I looked at her head and she had two huge bumps. I went into mama on crack mode. I am in this crazy hotel, Dallas is on the ballfield (literally) and I can't sleep if she's not ok. Off we went. 8:30 at night I'm checking her in. I can not say enough about the Children's Hospital. They were amazing. The receptionist, nurses, doctor, everyone loved her, played with her and made me feel normal for bringing her in. When they called her back the man said "Georgia Reese" and she threw up her hands. He fell out. He was impressed she knew her name so well. The volunteer who guided us (cute little old man) was so sweet. Once he found out her Daddy played baseball against the Sounds he went on a desperate search to tell me the score. I guess he thought I'd be dying to know since I was at the hospital. I obliged him by acting like I was so upset we were losing when I really wanted to sit him down and let him know a deep, dark, well kept baseball wife secret...we don't care. I know, that's sad to say, or write, out loud, but I keep it real. Sure, we like when everyone's winning and its more fun, but as long as the team has good guys and your hubby is doing well, ya really don't have time to give a rip. But, like a good wife, I acted distressed. I dropped lines like "Well, if anyone can come back, this team can." To which he responded "Maybe her Daddy will hit a game winning homerun." In the back of mind I'm thinking, maybe it will be a really fast game and be over soon. Or perhaps a huge storm will approach causing a rain out. I wanted him to live the remainder of his life thinking he had just done a good deed, though, so I kept quiet. The doctor came in and checked her out. He was so sweet to her. Laughing at her dancing and all. Yes, I'm sure I sent the mama's whose kids had real problems into psycho mode when they spotted my kid dancing in the patient room. Excuse me, Reese, could you at least act the part? It would kinda help my overbearing mom case here. Anywho, no signs of any problems but he was glad I brought her. He had kids and knew his wife would have done the same (uhm, I think she would have just called you but thanks for making me feel a little "not so crazy"). We went back and met Daddy. He was freaked out but by the time he saw her she was in entertainment mode again. She slept great that night. On a side note, if your kid won't sleep, spend the evening keeping a one year old busy in an er. That will wear her out to no end. Maybe that's not funny..
Here's some pics from her playtime in the hotel:
Yogurt. She loves it. She likes to eat it by herself, with no help from mama or anyone else for that matter. Then she walks around serving others. She's stirs her spoon and then offers it to me, daddy, her baby and makes a loud "smack" when it touches your lips!





And her signature "I don't know" face.

Her baby. She loves babies. It's so funny because I never really encouraged this, and I never taught her how to feed her baby, but she knows how. She feeds her baby whenever she's thirsty, obviously.

And then tries it for herself (don't all good mama's test out their babies bottles first?)

And, of course, like all good parents, she carries her baby around by her hair. Nice. We'll have to work on that one...

And a sweet hug. Not sure if this is an apology hug for holding her by the hair, or just a quick hug. This was followed by a few thousand kisses.

And oh how she loves to read. She has a book in her hand a thousand times a day. She will exhaust you if you stop by to visit. Daddy better refresh his reading skills fast...his offseason will be busy!

Tomorrow's post will be the summary of Dallas' official "DRAFT DAY." Reese and I helped him pull it off in style. We're thinking of starting a business.
I had a busy day of house hunting while everyone else in my family went to the Georgia game. poop. Someones gotta do the work around here...

Friday, August 29, 2008

We're back in GA

Ah. We're safe at home. Sorry I just got around to blogging. Between the busy schedule of letting a One year old rule the day (and trying to let her have as much fun in 24 hours as humanly possible) and Dallas having the computer to accomplish his fantasy football draft goals, I've just found the time. We had so much fun. It really was amazing! We decide to drive back yesterday when Dallas left for the field because they had a late game and an early flight this morning. Reese had gone full speed ahead all morning and was itching for a good nap, so 2 pm seemed like a great time to hit the road. Reese was an absolute angel on our drive. What should have been 4 hours, came to a quick change as we came to a major hault on the interstate. We just barely missed being involved in a terrible crash. All lanes were closed for several hours. We took a detour that was an hour long to go 5 miles. I decided to let her out to grab some dinner together so we just sat and ate and talked. Then it was back on the road. Six hours from when we left, we pulled into the driveway. Reese was so ready to get out. Once we got here she was a wild woman again. She showed Gigi her nose, eyes, mouth, ears and hair. (She can say eyes and nose now). She also showed Gigi her new jumping dance. It was a great trip. Very eventful, of course, but what would a trip be like really without a visit to the emergency room? Not a joke, we really went. I need a shower, so later today I'll give a good summary of the week including pictures. It rained 3 of the 4 days, so I did not take a lot, I just soaked up my mama time with the princess, but we've got some great stories and video. Happy Friday! Here's some pics from bathtime last week I've just gotten around to posting...
her favorite bathtime people...she loves a duck more than anything else in the world...

All that hair, trying to keep it out of her eyes (she plays hard in the tub)


Holding my "D" for Daddy or Dallas we're not sure, but she likes it...

And her favorite thing since she was little, her #8. I'm not kidding when I say she's been able to pick this out for a long time. Every night we say kiss Daddy's number. She can find it and kiss it, then place it on the wall. It melts my heart.


I love this little peanut. Girl, you win my heart everyday.

I'll post again soon..promise! Lots to catch up on!

Tuesday, August 26, 2008

Nashville baby

For those of you wondering, yes, we are here.  We made it safely around lunch yesterday. It was a busy day.  We left Atlanta around 9 am.  Just as we are driving through the city, it begins to storm.  Monday morning Atlanta traffic + rain + reese screaming=cookoo driver mama.  We made it out of the city and Reese was not following the script I had given her the night before. It was supposed to go:  Reese wake up, play, get dressed, into the car, Reese sleep for the 4 hour drive.  Exactly 4 hours of peaceful driving.  She decided some improvisation was needed. Let's make this movie into more of a dramatic piece.  
I had purchased new DVD's to entice her on the drive.  Dvd #1-no.  #2- uhm, no thanks.  I was whisking those things in and out by the second.  Finally, gave up, put in an old faithful (baby Noah) and said a prayer.  Unfortunately, prayers sometimes go unanswered.  She screamed on and off for 3 of the 4 hours.  I will say, it distracted me from the otherwise frightening mountainous drive and prevented the sleep induced views that usually attack during long trips. I would think I was doing so good, only to look in my rearview mirror to see every car either gunning it to avoid my nascar type moves or cautiously giving enough distance to avoid my every so often crossing of the white lines while hailing everything I could think of towards the backseat diva.
By hour three she was out.  Ah, I'll sit back and enjoy my hour of peace.  What's that?  The sweet tea I had avoided towards the beginning of our adventure (but unaware of its bladder power, in the midst of all the chaos had somehow made it to my lips) was just kicking in.  I had to go. I'll hold it.  Somehow the mere thought of containing myself for another 60 minutes, made the urge to go even more overbearing. La, de, da, think of the pretty mountains.  Things we are all going to do together in Nashville.  Not so much.  Must pull over.
Here's where not having Meme really kicked in.  You can't just run in. leave the car running. potty quick. Jump back in.  After minutes of contemplation I decided to look for my holy ground (Chick-fil-A), Reese would be hungry anyway, right?
I wake her up (Don't say a word mama readers).  We go in.  Potty, change diapers, order our food.  Here's where it gets fun.  It took forever to get our food.  While this is happening, I am unaware of Reese's water cup that is pouring out into my diaper bag.  I'm really just trying to maintain my composure while Reese is wrestling out of my arms wanting to run around Chick-fil-A like a mad woman.  Got the food.  Sat down.  Ah, we're seated.  We've got an hour til Daddy lands.  We're 32 miles away.  I breathe in a sigh of accomplishment. Unfortunately, it was short lived.
I reach for her cup and feel the pool of water that has taken over my diaper bag.  Much to my dismay, my cell phone seems to have taken the brunt of my mistake. I rung it out. Blew on it really hard (which made Reese laugh hysterically) and let it ly.  There was no way to tell my mom or dad we were ok.  What if I missed Dallas?  What if they land early?   It is an empty feeling to be in a place by yourself with no means of communication.  Gosh, I would never last as a hostage.
We decide to go play in the playcenter.  Just as I let her go I smell poop.  More specifically coming from Reese.  Awesome.  We take off, go change the poo and I decide its time to leave. What happens?  It begins to pour.  Absolute downpour.  Drenched, I get her in and head to the airport. 
We did make it.  We got there 20 minutes before Dallas.  Reese was overwhelmed by all the guys (they are all so sweet to her) but she did smile at Uncle Tommy first.  Once, we got in the car she was mesmerized with Dallas.  We played and took Daddy to the field only to be told the game was cancelled.  So sad.  This was better than winning the lottery! After dinner we called it a night.  It was kinda eventful with all three McPherson's in one bed. She gave Dallas a trademark stomach kick around 5am.  Nice.
We're here, we shopped and went to Cheesecake Factory today. Quick story: We were eating and the waiter came to refill our drinks. He asked "May I please have your drinks to refill them?"  Just as we handed him ours, Reese gave a cute smile and handed him her sippy cup. Just as serious as could be. So cute.
We're praying for more rain.  Tomorrows a day game, so that will be fun.  I'll blog tomorrow!  Reese is using Daddy's laptop as a piano, so I gotta go! Have a great day!

Monday, August 25, 2008

13 month loves


Laughing. She laughs until it hurts. Chasing her is really entertaining these days...

Sitting on ledges. Well, windows, stairs, even momma when she lays in the floor...she loves to stop. do a slow squat, then jump up really fast!

Clack. Clack. Clack. Papa taught her to make noises with her tongue. Nothing is better than this noise. She looks you right in the eyes and rolls her tongue from the roof of her mouth. The noise entertains her to no end.

Being tickled. This is her stare at mama after the tickling session, she laughs so hard I think it almost hurts.

Her brother. He is the coolest. He is rude, tries to eat her food, only pays her attention during specific mealtime hours, yet she adores him. He gets at least 10 kisses a day. I'm jealous.

This car. This and her pink wagon were birthday presents from Papa (and a mama favorite) and she loves them both. She gets in the wagon and we push her around. Then we put babies in it, take them out, you know the drill. She can now climb on the car all by herself. Her feet barely touch, so she needs assistance while driving. I think it's only a matter of days before she's a mad woman behind the wheel. Don't you love this car? Don't worry, this and her wagon will be incorporated in a photo shoot every soon. I've had many sleepless nights full of visions of this pink car. I love it! Thanks Daddy!

Reading. This is undoubtedly, her most, ridiculously, absolutely, positively favorite thing to do. Whew...Did I get it across? Like all kiddos, I'm sure, she loves books. She really has since she was 7 months old. However, lately it is an all.day.event. Seriously, whether it's me, Meme, Aunt Boo comes to visit...she goes and picks out a favorite, hands it to you, then gently climbs in your lap. She must be sitting in your lap. This is non negotiable. Her favorites are any Karen Katz books (lift the flap or counting kisses) Brown bear and Violets House. Violets House is #1. She loves to feel Violets stuff and sniff her toothpaste. She really is wearing us out. I'm not complaining, though, its really cute. It does a mama's heart good.

And something I love...well, of course, my reesie cup, but I love when something, even if it is so minuscule that no one else notices, but something she does comes from me, Mama, the woman who birthed her. It may be small, and I'll admit, I didn't even notice it until I was going through our pictures from playing, but she sticks her tongue out while accomplishing a task. Check her out trying to place herself in the drivers seat. I'll take it. Stamp my name right on that tiny piece of her that came from mama. I thought I had thumbsucking, but she let that go after 6 months. (Much better than my timeline, I might add) Also, on a side note, I did not put brown shoes with polka dots on her with that outfit. (just in case you paid attention) no, that's another 13 month love..picking out her shoes. She grabs them and tries to put them on herself. Then, she kindly asks for help (a yes with a head bob or a no, with a shake). I like a girl who knows what she wants, but we're gonna need to know when to wear brown and when to wear black. Something to work on, I guess. 

Sunday, August 24, 2008

Sunday

This is a quick post.  I have a sore throat and my chapped lips are back (another subject all together) but we've had a great Sunday.  We had a great church service this morning and then I ran all my errands before Nashville.
We leave tomorrow morning to go see Daddy!  Please pray for our trip.  It's 4 hours and just me & reesie! Some serious mama/daughter bonding time for sure.  I'll post while we're there.
We are so excited to see Dallas.  We're picking him up at the airport...he gets to see her walk for the first time...love it.
Have a great week everyone. 
God Bless.
p.s. I am loving all The Shack talk I've stirred up.  I can't wait to hear some feedback!

Friday, August 22, 2008

football

The time has come.
Oh yes, fantasy football is upon us.

For those of you who, fortunately, do not have husbands that dream all year of this special time...congratulate yourselves. You're one of the chosen few. You've done well for yourself. Perhaps, your hubby just has one league he's involved in. He gets geared up when the season begins, but slowly as the busy holiday season wraps up his time, he forgets to even tend to his line up. By December he's not even sure what his record is. Pat yourself on the back. You're a smart, smart lady.

Me, I chose Tim the Toolman of fantasy football. The man who lives and breathes it. He drops lines like "Honey, I've got some paperwork to handle, I'll be in my office." or "We're going to need to go to early service, the first game starts at 11 am (when we lived in Arizona)." My personal favorite is when he's on the cell for hours scheming a harmless team owner (aka one of his friends) who is clearly uneducated on the value of his players into making a trade. That would make for a "good day" in the office. I could go on for hours. No one is allowed to touch his laptop on Sundays as he has separate tabs set up for each league he's in. The best is when he gets up and I need to harmlessly check my email. This does not fair well for the team owners wife. Oops.

So, with this said, every year Dallas has three teams, his Charleston team, friends in Az and his baseball team. He is the ringleader. I can remember them actually getting a conference room in Salt lake one year. I wish I had been in charge of renting out that room..."You're doing what? You can't just all talk in your locker room before the game?" No, this requires a conference room. Those times are once again upon us. Dallas, the commissioner, has already set up everyone's teams and they've drawn to see who gets 1st pick. Next week in Nashville, after a day game they are holding the draft. It is serious business. To kick this off, Dallas asked me to help him upload a picture to the teams main site. His instructions were simple...
"You're good with this stuff, can you just upload this picture of me with Michael Ryan (the commish and the Top draft pick team owner who's obviously going with LaDanian by his cute drawing). It will go with an article about our draft order."
"Sure."
"Here's my password. Thanks! I love you, talk to you after the game."
"Love you too."
As I was uploading it, a thought came to mind. Hmmm...this is kinda boring, what if I spice it up a bit? No one probably even goes to this site other than Dallas, right?
So, with only myself to entertain, I chuckled as I designed, hacked in and posted this cute little photo...with my nice little addition. It needed something right?
Let's just says Dallas was not amused.
If it was not for the fact that he still doesn't know how to upload some of the stuff, he may not even be speaking to me at this moment.
I guess this is kinda my fantasy football (minus the scheming) so hopefully I've made my opposing team owners laugh with this.

whatever.
At least one of us has a sense of humor in this family.

Thursday, August 21, 2008

My baby.


I'm still referring to her as that even though she's 13 months going on whatever age is the most independent and bossy. But just when I think she doesn't need me, she leans in, looks me in the eyes and gives me a big MUAH. Her kisses are like gold.



Better make that platinum.
I got a hundred of em today too.
Can't ask for a better day.

The Shack


Have you heard of this book?  
Evidently, I'm just now catching on.  I think this is one of the side effects to being a mom.  You lose your cool.  Honestly, if it's not on blogger or on a reality show I tivo, good luck.  I do, however, get my alone time on Sundays. A few Sundays back, a friend in church spoke, no, raved about this book.  I brushed it off, honestly.  Then, as I am grabbing a drink Monday before flying back to Georgia, I glance up and it literally is staring at me. 
Hmmm...$14.99?  
I'll take it.  
I immediately started reading, really just thinking I'd get started that day and complete it later. Let's just say if I had not been on standby where they had to call my name, I might still be sitting at the Albuquerque airport.  It is beyond words.  I had no knowledge of the plot going into this, so I'm not giving you any either.  I encourage you to pick up a copy. Today. Tomorrow. Soon.  It is a book for believers and non-believers. For those of us who have read the bible forwards and back or don't know quite where to begin.  Perhaps the best part, its made for all denominations.  I will give you one heads up...get your tissues.  I cried for most of the book.  I was not prepared for the journey of emotions bestowed upon me by this simple novel.  Grab a copy, go to a quiet area and devote yourself to this.  Open your heart. The best part is once you buy it, you give it to another.  I'm giving mine to Dallas next week.  He has a deadline to get it back to me for me to give to a long list of friends I have in mind.  Let me know what you think after you've read it! I'm loving the discussions I'm having right now.  I'll post some Reese in a bit!

Wednesday, August 20, 2008

Macs + Murphs = good times

It's as if the universe wants us to be together. Deb & I met 5 years ago and our friendship is beyond words. She is my best friend. Truly, we've been there for each other through all the baseball crap you can think of. After we both were no longer Angels (we still have our halos, though. can't see them? they are there, promise.) we signed with new teams this off season. The baseball gods tried to separate us (the Murphs were Washington Nationals) but like each season before, we got matching uniforms again. If only we could find a way to spend our off season next door to each other. She is a gracious friend that exudes all things a best friend, mother and wife should. Here's our snapshot (we took a hundred more that look pretty stupid and I am loving the creative background we chose...)

one good thing, scratch that, the only good thing about a rain delay is you get some good hubby time! He was very excited that I was taking pictures during the game (especially when he had to pose...insert sarcasm..)

And some shots of my fav family in the outfield. The Topes ballpark is the nicest one I've seen (minor league, of course...although they draw a larger crowd than the big fish...kinda funny) It has a great kids area in the outfield that entertained Tyler and Dylan every night. They had a good view of their Daddy in centerfield too!




Tuesday, August 19, 2008

she's coloring


seriously, all by herself. Don't know how I missed these pictures from about 3 weeks ago (probably because they came off my cybershot and I tend to push those into a folder) but I saw them last night and got them ready for posting. We were out to eat and she wanted the crayons. Without assistance, she held it and started her artwork. As parents and grandparents it really doesn't take much to "wow" us, so this sent our proud meter rocketing sky high. Guess we should have tried a long time ago. I always informed the nice hostess, "No, no crayons please, she'll eat them."
Guess she showed me.

Monday, August 18, 2008

Blink

Glad I didn't in two days or I would have missed a great time.  It was fast, I know.  I'd rather have quality than quantity, though.  It was great.  Dallas and I stayed up late in the hotel watching movies both nights.  There's really nothing quite like it.  We laughed, talked and took in the moments.  I always love that feeling.  Hotel, waiting on him after the game, the rental car that looks like a real life version of a Flintstones car (and seeing a 6'4 guy climb in is worth the cross country trip, believe me), odd hours, eating late, naps (don't ever let a baseball wife and or girlfriend tell you they get anything done when they go visit their significant other pre or sans kids.  It's like something takes over and you have every intention of being productive before the game and yet you can not help but rest after you drop him off at the ballpark.  It happens. Then, you spend way too long perfecting your hair, makeup, all for no good reason. You'll never see half these wives again.  Some already judged you before they met you. Most are more than likely hail from somewhere, geographically no where near you and your styles couldn't be farther off each others radar.  Whew.  That was a lot to take in.  Why can't I keep the truth in?  Not sure. I've been asking myself this for years.  My parents still are.  
I'm back in Georgia.  Rested.  Kinda.  I miss Dallas already.  A whole lot.  It wasn't so bad leaving knowing that we'll meet up on Monday in the Music City.  He can not wait to see Reese. By the way, not sure if she's trying to get potty trained (my dad actually taught her this) but when you ask her if she has a stinky or potty (she shakes her head no) but goes back into her room to be changed.  It's humorous.  Hmmm...we've got to work on this same scenario for bedtime.  Warning: If you loved the book/movie The Secret I may lose you as a reader after this next line.  You do.not.want to get me started on my views of this concept.  My first comment to the person who made a trillion dollars writing it...um, duh.  Positive people, drawing positive experiences and people to them?  Wow.  Genius!  And those of us who spend our days drowning in our own sorrow, giving up on our dreams actually attractive negative forces to our beings?  Such a new concept.  Really groundbreaking. I chose to believe in Jesus Christ as my savior and through his guidance attract positive people, experiences, adventures, handling the unexpected days that may come ahead, all the while visualizing his plan, not the "new car I've always wanted."  (That was one of the parts that set me off, can you tell?)  I should really try that.  Visualizing...Reese, you are 1.  Go to your crib.  Climb in. Sleep for 10 hours straight.  Wake happy.  Let me get ready every morning for at least 30 min.  Okay, I'm done. Off my momma/spiritual soapbox.  Maybe I need a new header in the sidebar----->"Jenn's soapbox...read if you dare."  I'm liking the sound of it.  
I'm off to watch my guilty pleasure...The Hills.  Be glad I'm off my soapbox because you.do.not want to get me started on Spencer and Heidi.  I've secretly worn a TEAM LAUREN shirt for two years.  
And as if this blog isn't ridiculously long enough, I'll have an update this week on a book I read on the flight today.  The Shack.  It's a bestseller.  I have a couple chapters left.  It's amazing so far.  I'll give my review this week.  So far, it's a must read for believers.  Bring your Kleenex.  I was not prepared and I think the guy next to me on the plane today thought I was flying home for a funeral.  
See you Tuesday!  I'll have pics too.

Sunday, August 17, 2008

This is the life:

I love when people talk about how "cool" it must be to play professional baseball.  Living the dream baby.  Getting to play all day for a job. For real money. Wow.
Here's a wow moment for ya.

The team got up at 3:30 am yesterday.  They boarded a plane at 6 am.  They deplaned after the pilot informed them of some "technical difficulties."  Um, yes, I think I'll deplane.
They sat.
They reboarded.  They landed in Denver.
They missed their connection.
They sat 2 more hours.
They boarded a plane in Denver headed to Albuquerque.  Lighting and thunder approached. They sat.  They waited on the storm to clear before their bags and equipment were loaded. They finally took off.
They landed in New Mexico.
They waited 45 minutes on luggage.
They drove their rental cars to the hotel.
If you are Dallas you smiled when you saw your anxious wife.
You ate lunch.
You headed straight for the field.
You played 7 innings.
A huge storm approached and it poured for 1 hour.  The game was cancelled.
The game was not cancelled.
No one has a clue what is going to happen.
The game resumes at 10:20 pm.
In the bottom of the ninth the game becomes tied.  Awesome.
Wives are sad.
Players are tired.
Coaches are happy.
10 people are sitting in the stands.  The Isotope loyals.
The wives watch from the comfort of the family room secretly cheering for whomever can end this thing fast.  real fast.
The game goes into the 12 inning before the other team finally wins the game.
It is midnight.

Oh yeah.  Who wants to push paperwork when you've got nights like this?  We're just livin the dream baby.

Just an FYI.  This is not me complaining, just describing.  Painting the picture, really.  I'll take any picture that puts me with Dallas for a few days.  It is well worth all this drama.  I mean really, life can get boring.  Who wants 9-5 when you can have 3:30- midnight.  That's work baby.
And just when you think, hey, we paid our dues last night...there is a doubleheader tonight.  
yep.  that's a lot of baseball.
I've got my super supportive ballcap on and I'm rallying.  
I really only do it because I like the reward afterwards.  We are blessed.  
If it rains again tonight though, I warn you, tomorrows blog may not be this pretty.  Here's to sunshine, 2 hour ballgames and winning.  Oh and Dallas getting hits.  This always helps!

Saturday, August 16, 2008

Back in New Mexico baby

Whew....After a fun day of shopping with Reese & meme yesterday, I hopped on an evening flight to Albuquerque. I even got first class! I can't tell you how blessed I am to have friends that give me buddy passes. A cheap ticket and first class on a 4 hour flight. It was great. I am missing my Reesie. This is a quick 3 day trip, so she is staying home with Meme. They are having fun too. This morning they headed out to gymnastics. Mom called as soon as it was over and said she wasn't sure who was more worn out, her or Reese. They had so much fun...she is such a cool Meme! They really enjoy their time together.I also believe there is nothing like quality, alone time with your husband. It makes me a better wife and mother.

I landed late and got a good night sleep at the questionable hotel. Dallas was supposed to land at 9 am, hence the reason I flew last night, but of course, they did not land until 1 pm. The good news is, I've been chillin with the Murphys all morning. It is so great having us all together again. I just wish Reese was here to play with the boys. However, this is much easier for such a quick trip. She'll get to see him in Nashville next week. So, nothing but quality time with Deb, Dallas and the boys. It is going to be wonderful. I'm going to rest and relax.

On a side note, I can't post without some pics of the chick. Here's her playing with her kitchen. Yes, it is bootleg. We grabbed it at Target the other day and she loves it. She loves her little pots and pans too. She seriously plays with them all day. She "serves" Rookie and me all the time. It is really cute. She stirs the pots and then puts the spoon/spatula in your mouth. After which, you must say yum, yum and act as though your eating. Lots of smacking going on. Rookie usually gives the spoon a big lick or two. She feeds herself too smacking her lips and laughing. It is so fun. She entertains herself for a good while with this. I contemplated getting her a big kitchen for her birthday but after talking it over with Dallas, we decided it was a perfect Christmas gift. There's many reasons for this. One, we have no house yet to put it in and Meme's house has enough toys. Two, she already plays with one at church, gym, friends houses and seriously, she did not even know what she got for her 1st birthday. So since then, I have had this vision (yes me and my visions) of her on Christmas morning waking up to her big kitchen from Santa. I think she'll appreciate it a lot more then. So, there you have it. I have 4 months to find our play kitchen.


Also, she's added to her dancing routine and has added a "hop." She literally leaps out of her musical chair. Hilarious. She really is a ham. Dancing, cooking, make up, purses I kinda can't believe how girlie she is. Except when it comes to balls. We have a house full. She has loved throwing them for a few months now. She's even added kicking the ball to her routine. Such a mess. I miss her. Headed out to watch the Isotopes play! It is great to see my hubby. I appreciate our love and our marriage so much. He is my happiness. I'll try to blog before I leave. Here's Reese pointing just before a leap/dance move. Maybe it will catch on and be the latest craze. Hey, you never know.

Thursday, August 14, 2008

breakin it down...

I've promised some video of the chick dancing. The good news is, I've got some. The bad news is threefold:
1. She was dancing for 10 minutes before I snuck away to run grab my camera, therefore missing the "good stuff"
2. We are all (as in me, meme, reese, rookie, the bull mastiff and chelsea, the shih tzu) living in one place right now, so we are a little unorganized as you will see in the clip
3. As I have stated in previous videos...I sound like a hick. I've got to learn to keep quiet during filming. Honestly.

Before the movie begins, I'd like to prepare you. The girl dancing in this video likes hats. Especially big ones, big beach hats that belong to mommy. She also gets thirsty during her performances. Apparently, professionals need to quench their thirst while on stage. This particular actress/performer had just risen from a nap...hence the stumbling and quiet demeanor. There is no liquor in her milk. I repeat, no liquor. You may want to grab a drink of your own, though, it's kinda lengthy. sorry!

Wednesday, August 13, 2008

loving the warm light

The evenings are really getting nice here. Yes, it's still hot, but a good, warm kinda evening sun verses the miserable humidity we were having. I know I mentioned her love of swinging yesterday, but just walking around outside is enough to keep her happy. That's what we're doing these days. We walk and we walk. The sidewalks, driveways and the grass. Every once in a while stopping for breaks. I love these shots of her. They really capture who she is right now. She is really in the cutest stage. She mimics things we're saying, loves to stay busy and she gives the sweetest kisses right now. There's even a "smack" noise at the end. She especially loves to give it if she does something she knows she's not supposed to. She knows she rules our hearts. Here's her sweetness through the eye of my camera...

Just relaxing enjoying the fresh cut grass...

And perhaps the cutest shot thus far (I know I'm partial) but she does this a lot. Every morning she walks up to Rookie, waves, then gets on his level (he's always vegging) tilts her head, looks him in the eye...and laughs. My hand goes on my heart everytime she does it. I loved them both so your getting them in color and black and white.


Also, I finally, and I do mean finally, updated our family site. I've been neglecting it terribly. Hey, two sites are a lot to maintain, people. Just as I think I'm over it (as I was last month) a lot of you went on. And when I mention this some of you have pointed out that you like the website better than the blog. It's really hard to please demanding friends and family (and people who visit that I've yet to meet!!) So, I'll keep truckin along. I do usually post more snapshot type stuff on there. Lots from my point & shoot, which is easier when we're out. So, my pics are more thorough. Plus, Dallas likes that site better. What Dallas wants....looks like he gets. We try to keep him happy!

Tuesday, August 12, 2008

evening rituals


Lesson #1 as a mama (well, after learning how to change a diaper, breastfeed, fix a bottle, burp, get them to sleep, shall I go on?) is just when you think you've got a really, really, good routine down, it changes. In the blink of an eye. In one day a new routine begins and it's as if this is how it's been since the beginning. Following me? Maybe not, because I'm posting at 10 p.m. Which by the way, I've been getting some sleep lately. I know, what in the world is going on, right? Jenn, getting adequate hours of sleep each night. It's eery. Truly. Sorry, I fell off course. Back on track... our routine has changed. In the past, we'd swing whenever we got the chance. Perhaps during the day or at the park. Well, now it is a must do every evening. No objections. After dinner (and usually after her bath) she heads to the windows and points to the outside. We now spell O-U-T-S-I-D-E or S-W-I-N-G because she knows the words. She pulls on the door knobs and bangs on the glass. She's very demanding these days. So, as if we are her royal servants, Meme and Mommy escort her heiness to her throne, uh hum, the swing. She loves it. She hums, laughs, points to Rookie and relaxes. She really needs this down time after her long, busy day.
Here's our girl swinging as free as a bird...

Waving to her fans, aka Meme...

sneezing...

pulling on my ears...my cuspids are coming in (More teeth!! Hard to believe there is room, right?)

looking like my Daddy...

just chillin...

And smiling at my mama every chance I get...

Reesie cup, I love you to the moon and back.