Wednesday, April 30, 2008

busy, busy.

We have been pretty busy today. All my days here in Georgia seem to just fly by. (that's a good thing when you're away from Daddy)

I had a photo shoot today, so Reese tagged along with her B.A.D. (beautiful Aunt Donna). Afterwards Aunt Boo stopped by the house to see her Reesie cup. Reese adores her Aunt Boo.

Reese loves dogs. This probably stems from her constant animal stimulation here at Meme's. Rookie really snubs her unless there's puffs involved. Everyday, after I shower and Reese eats her puffs in the jumperoo, I walk in the den and say "There some puffs on the floor for ya." With that, Mr. Lazy is off the couch and into the bathroom. Now he expects it. He's spoiled. just a smidge... Poor Aunt Chelsea. She is 15 and we worry each day will be her last. Reese spots her across the room (while Chelsea is minding her own business, I might add) and is off for the races. She tugs at her and tries to tell her very important information.

This one here Chel is just trying to quench her thirst...

My busy little bee. There is no time for rest anymore. She thinks it is so funny how fast she can get away from me. I fear this is just a small glimpse into the future.


But these are the moments I cherish. ..

If you look closely, I swear, there is a halo above her little head...

Tuesday, April 29, 2008

Welcome Surprises

Isn't it nice when life throws you those unexpected little surprises?

Moments of relief.

Yep, it is. Especially as a mom. Today Reese went for her 9 month check-up (I know she's almost 10 months, but they were really behind). I was fully prepared for her 9 month HIB shot. She missed it at 6 months b/c they had taken them off the shelves during that bacteria link (I hardly remember the exact reason). Well, since then they have discovered that a 3rd HIB is not necessary. Yeah for us. Being late really pays off. God sure has a plan. This whole vaccine debate really hits close to home. I was once on the other side of the fence. As a rep, I sold adult and pediatric vaccines for Glaxo. I reinforced physicians and nurses alike that there was no link with a few million studies proving just that. Now, being on the more important "mommy" side of the fence I worry myself sick.

To our relief, we are shot free today. Reese weighed in at 22 lbs 8 oz (93 %) and 29 in.(82%). She was excited to see Michelle (we love our pediatrician here) and was a wild woman, laughing and trying to walk and crawl all over her office. It was a great day.

Here's a sneak peak into a Tuesday for Jenn & Reesie:

Watching Mommy make my breakfast at 7 a.m. happy as can be.



After a morning of playing, lunch with meme and my doctor's visit I decide to get the puffs out of my diaper bag. Oh, and dump them out all over the floor.


Mommy sees me and I think it's hilarious. (She can also stick her little arm all the way into the container and grab as many puffs as her heart desires...).


The sweet look of innocence that melts my heart...


And after a full day with no afternoon nap, I fall out. Disclaimer: No child was injured or left alone during this blog. Mommy was in the other room when Meme alerted her to the fall out. She was supervised....calm yourselves.


The life of a 9.5 month old. Exhausting...

Monday, April 28, 2008

Meme Monday


Meme had an off day today!

We love Meme off days.  Us three chicks headed off to Mall of Georgia for a girls day.  Make that a girls day + papa.  Daddy works nearby so he came and met us for lunch.  My love for Chick-fil-A is hereditary (my dad eats there just about everyday for lunch) so there was really no debate about where to eat. I know I say this all the time but my Daddy adores her.  Probably because she's his only grandchild. Or maybe because he is so used to girls (just me & my sis) but he thinks she is the best thing on the planet. He just ate her up during lunch.

As we are headed home from an exhausting day of retail therapy, Dallas calls.  He got in late after they rode a bus last night from Oklahoma to New Mexico.  To be exact, he rode on a karaoke bus.  Yes, a handful of the guys thought they'd spruce the ride up a bit with a little singing.  When I called, I heard an absolutely horrible rendition of a Hank, Jr. song.  Not to worry, Dallas stayed securely in his seat.  I knew he would not take center stage.  Anyhoo, he calls to inform me that his wallet was stolen from the gym this morning.  Lovely.  

So he is in Albuquerque with no license, cash, had to return his rental car, and is trying to figure out how he'll have an id to board the plane in eight days.  Kind of important when you travel every 4-8 days.  On the upside, there was only $1 in his wallet. We've cancelled everything and a few of the guys owe him some cash, so he'll try and get reimbursed asap.  
Also, MLB has helped him to obtain a new players identification card.  Along with the police report, he should be able to fly while he awaits his Georgia license. 

A day in the life, people.

We like to keep you on the edge of your seat.

Sunday, April 27, 2008

mommy's home



Yeah, mommy's home. I could not get to Georgia fast enough.

It was a good, fun weekend. I missed my princess so much, however, I think it is so healthy for your marriage to have time together. Dallas and I were like kids all weekend. We just soaked up the moments. I'm glad I chose Oklahoma City too. It was a very cool little city. The game ended early last night (although it was tied through the bottom of the eighth, you know what I was thinking). We headed over to Mickey Mantle's with Tagg and his wife, Laura. They are a really cute, fun couple from San Francisco. We had so much fun laughing and eating until midnight. Then we headed back for the Marriott to get some zzz's. I decided to leave on the 7:30am flight. I would not have much time with Dallas before the game anyway, so I rushed to get back to my reesie cup.



My flight was great. I ended up flying first class. First class for $100 round trip on a ticket bought 4 hours before I left. Can't beat that huh?

I pulled in and Meme, Reesie and Rookie were all outside waiting on my arrival. Reesie and Meme went to church this morning. Oh, I just squeezed her until she was scrambling out of my arms. A mother's love is indescribable.

Reese had a great weekend with Meme and Papa. They adore her beyond belief. They worked on her "blowing kisses." So cute.

Other than that, just a relaxing Sunday. We're headed tomorrow morning to Mall of Georgia for a girls day with Meme. Papa's going to meet us for lunch. So exciting!

Saturday, April 26, 2008

more tea, please.

The Jenn Mac packing experience: throw as much stuff in your bag as quick as possible.  I have no game plan.  No preperation. Absolutely no strategy. So, when I asked Dallas Thursday morning  what the temps were in Oklahoma, he said 80 degrees.  Easy enough, right?  I made the mistake of freezing my bootie (pronounced boot-tay) off in ABQ, I was not doing it this time.  

On the contrary, my well planned outfit last night was topped off with one of Dallas' big jackets. It's a statement, people. (Notice I left out the word fashion.) The temperatures dropped as the sun went down.  It was a fun game, though. Tied for a long time. I was worried towards the end, we were going to take it into extra innings. Here's the scoop on extra innings. Wanna hear it? Of course you do.  It doesn't matter if you're in low A, AAA or the big leagues.  A wife or a girlfriend. The girls all feel the same. If we controlled the world, none of us, not a single one, would allow extra innings.  Hands down, doesn't matter.  It's secret code. Deep down, as the ninth inning approaches during a tied game, we begin to cheer for either dugout.  Loyalty goes out the window.  We have one goal: Finish this game in nine innings and under 3 hours.  We are ready for quality time with our sweeties and some good grub.  

Seldom do you run into problems with this theory.  I try and position myself no where near the closer's wife if the opposing team scores a few runs to get the lead.  Likewise, bottom of the ninth and we're trying to tie it up...I'm gonna need three up, three down people.

I want everyone to do great.  Their personal best.  I just need it in a timely manner.  That's all. 

To get back to my initial paragraph. To help myself through the chill last night I drank a gallon of Starbucks green tea.  By the end of the game, I was warm and annoyingly hyper.  I even averted to sneaking it in the ballpark under my jacket.  I was wired. Good for Jenn.  But poor Dallas after the game. 

Today, Dallas and I enjoyed some breakfast and then headed to the Oklahoma City Memorial.  I was not at all prepared for how tough that would be.  I was a junior in high school, so I remember bits and pieces.  We walked around the memorial, then toured the museum.  Seeing the children's faces that died during the pointless tragedy was horrific.  Being a mother made it all hit too close.  Not really something to visit while you are away from your gift.  It was a very emotional day.  However, I am very glad we reflect on the lives lost. 

Game tonight.  A couple of the wives are meeting up in the restaurant at the park.  Much better idea than sitting in the stands.  For their sake, I'll try and lay off the caffeine.

Friday, April 25, 2008

surprise!

I'm in OKC.

I'm talking airport code these days.  Allow me to translate:

Oklahoma City Baby.  (I added the "baby" just to spruce it up a bit.  I feel it needs a little something.)

Yep, I hopped on a plane around 6pm yesterday and headed to Oklahoma. I told you Dallas and I aren't very good at being apart. I flew standby and had a great flight here.  Never been to Oklahoma before. I have to admit, I kinda forget about Oklahoma on the map.  Sounds bad. At least now I can say I've been here!  The hotel is great, right in downtown and a couple blocks from the stadium.  

I just relaxed in the hotel last night and waited on Dallas. I had a cute "I Love You" note on the bed from my sweetheart.  He text me on the way home from the game  "walking to the hotel now."  I responded with "run!!"  I could not wait to see him.  

We got up this a.m. and headed to the gym for a nice workout. Then, the best part...we went to Toby Keith's I love this Bar restaurant.  Sounds cheesy, but it was fun. This downtown lacks shopping, but if your hungry, your set.  Mickey Mantle's restaurant is here, along with numerous other cool places.  

So, headed to the game tonight.  Redhawks vs. Isotopes.  Minor League Baseball at it's best.  

My princess is with Meme.  They are having so much fun.  Reesie squealed for me on the phone this morning.  I get so sad thinking about her. I miss her so much I could puke, but I know this is where I need to be right now. Until she reads this blog, she'll never know I left.  And she's in the best hands I know.  Her Meme adores her.  The sun rises and sets with her.  Before I know it I'll be holding her again.  Until then, I'll focus on my other love.  

Have a great weekend all!

Thursday, April 24, 2008

bling.bling.


For a shower gift (a year ago)Reese got so much cute jewelry. I loved it, but I was so scared to put it on her when she was tiny. (I have recurring nightmares of her eating jewelry) So, I hesitated to let her "rock the bling."

Well, yesterday, during our daily walk to Meme's office for lunch, her co-worker asked where her bracelets were. Hmm...so Reese and I went on a quest to find this girl's jewelry. After we found it we had some fun trying everything on. If your having a really boring day, stop by my house and try and put a charm bracelet on a 9.5 month old. It will exhaust you! We got it on and it is so cute! So far, it hasn't fazed her. It has, however, added lots of flare to her pageant wave. Now her wave is flashy and has a little jingle! Fabulous!

She has added "ruff ruff" to her vocabulary. I'm not saying we're headed to Yale or anything, but we think she's smart. Mom says "What does Rookie say?" and she says "ruff ruff." Dallas says that we are training her like Rookie. You know Rookie can sing, right? He should have an album. Everyone loves to hear Rookie sing! She may not be saying real words alot, but if you say growl, she growls. cough, she coughs. and now, rookie, she ruffs.

Pure entertainment.

A close up of her jewels. I love this one. It has a Daddy's Little Girl, an R, heart, baby shoes..so cute!!


I walked in the living room and she was loving her books. This is all she wants to do lately. She looks through them and laughs it up. The more books the better...



Wednesday, April 23, 2008

weese got some wee squeaks


Eh? If you say "Reese got some Wee Squeaks" really fast three times it comes out more like this title. Try it.

Yesterday, the baby boutique in my hometown went out of business. Why does this always happen to the cute stores? So, Mom and I hit up the half off sale. (Along with every other mom and gramma in Georgia.) It was madness. However, in the midst of the chaos, we got some adorable clothes for Miss Reesie poo. I had boycotted shoes until recently because I really did not see the point. She hated them, pulled them off constantly, and well, I love bare baby feet! Also, it is better for kids to be barefoot (unlike when we were kids and you had those hard soles...stride rite) Uh, I'm thirty...

Let's get back on track. So, we picked up a bunch of different styles/sizes in pedipeds. These are adorable, soft shoes. She's walking along everything so it was time to venture into the shoe section. Well, then we found wee squeaks. Aunt Boo had introduced us to these a while back (she saw them on a 2 year old who was running around a store driving everyone crazy...but she was cute, so who cares!) and Boo wanted Reesie to have some. They are so cute and you know the best part? They squeak!! You probably saw this coming hence the word squeaks, but I had to clarify. They are so stinkin' cute. I wonder how cute they'll be when she's running circles around us?

Hmmm....

I'll be sure to have them nice and broken in for Daddy...he'll love it when he's trying to play Madden.




Tuesday, April 22, 2008

what the crap.


So here's the dealy yo. This whole BPA in bottles news is upsetting. I watched the Today show Monday morning (like I do everyday of my life) and saw the segment on baby bottles. Immediately I was on the internet searching. After breastfeeding we have used nothing but Dr. Brown's bottles. They're the best, right? Well, I guess in this instance you don't get what you pay for. I stumbled upon sites that had dr. browns on the bad list for BPA in bottles. Yet, on the dr. brown's website they claim that they used to have bottles with BPA but now all bottles are BPA free. Who do you believe? Obviously no one. So I turned to the best thing I knew for an answer..my gut. Something told me to get to babies r us and get some new stuff. So, we started on born free. We've been weaning out bottles anyway, so now we are bottle free (on sippy cups) and BPA free. (Or as far as we know, tomorrow our car seat may be causing obesity).

Here is a good link for mom's to get "real answers" on eco-friendly baby supplies.  This blog specifies good sippy cups, bottles, bowls, etc.  NatureMoms.
I was excited to learn that her boon bowl, sippy cup, etc are all safe.  So be sure to check out their site if your a mom to a little one.

I think this sent all moms into wacko mode yesterday. I checked my email and had tons of forwards. I was washing the new cups when I saw Jina's email. Thanks girl! Is this not a stressful time to be a mommy? I know there will always be something, but I feel like I have to worry everyday. I guess that's what the future holds...lots of worry. But for a good cause!

Since it's Earth day I thought I'd share my tip. I have used sigg bottles for a long time. They are my favorite. I used to order them online, but they sell them at whole foods. They are not that expensive when you compare costs of bottled water, reduced trash in your home and the most important...less plastic on our planet. Try them out!

Be good to Momma Earth!


Does this shirt not describe her to a tee? Thanks Aunt Boo!

elbow. elbow. wrist. wrist.


Thought I'd share a pic of Reesie and me!  I usually spare you the pictures of me, especially since I am always the one behind the camera.  If you look close you can see Reese waving at you.  She says "hi!"  She's been waving this month on and off, but now it's official. You say "hi" or "bye-bye" and she's waving.  The girl has got the beauty queen wave down pat too. 

Elbow.Elbow.Wrist.Wrist. She wants to say hello.

Oh, that, and world peace...she, of course, wants world peace

Monday, April 21, 2008

Recap Day 2


Saturday was a good, relaxing day.  
After doing some shopping, we met Uncle D, Jason, Jenn & baby Jacob at Sticky Fingers. They are close friends of David & Jess.  Jenn lived with Boo in NYC when they interned at Badgley Mischka their senior year at UGA.  They are sweet people...with a sweet 7 month old baby boy. After lunch we all went back to Boo's and of course, I busted out the camera. Would it really be a family affair without my camera?  We shot some cute pics of Jacob.  He was such a little trooper for me.  I will post some from his shoot in the coming weeks.  I am just a tad bit backlogged on my editing.  oops!  We've stayed so busy lately. 

So, back to Saturday, we were all down stairs hanging out with the babies while the guys were upstairs playing guitar. Did I mention my brother-in-law is in a band?  Well, he is. They play at local bars.  Very cool.  Anyhoo, Reese heard the guitar and was mesmerized.  She headed upstairs to get in on the action.  She made some requests like Baby Bach, Baby Einstein orchestra music, etc.  Just so happened Jason knew some. She was in heaven.  Seriously, she laid in my lap and just listened.  I think we have a rockstar on our hands.  Or maybe a producer..regardless we have found one of her loves...music.  She gets this from Dallas and Uncle D.  They are music junkies.  Not so much mommy.  

After some dinner, we went to sleep.  Like clockwork, Reese woke up again around 2ish and got in bed with me.  We slept good, though.  Got up, played and headed back to Atlanta.  What a fun trip.  We can't wait to go back.  GOD blessed me with a wonderful sister and brother-in-law. The coolest.  

Oh, thanks Boo for all the outfits and bows  (Aunt Boo got a little boutique happy).  Reese loves everything...or maybe that's mommy who loves it!

Birthday Bash

Reese crashed Mhari's 30th birthday party on Sunday. Kidding! Lots of kids were there. I think that happens when you get old. Instead of "What should I wear? or Who's coming?" The first questions asked are "Can I bring my kids?" Yep, crazy parties here people.
Seriously, we threw my girlfriend Mhari (my friend since forever) a surprise birthday bash. In case you were wondering, yes, I am the only person in the world with two best friends named Mhari. I may even be the only person in the world who actually knows two girls named Mhari. One is spelled MAURI and the other MHARI. Both pronounced like Maury Povich. Go figure. Creative mamas is what I like to think. They are both hilarious too. Something about the name, I guess.
We really had a great time at the party. It is so good for all of us to get together. It's become so hard since we all have responsibilities now. Wives, moms, careers, all part of being a grown up! Reese was quite the social butterfly as usual.
Other than that, just a normal Sunday. Sunday nights are the best. I'm about to let you in on my vices. I don't have a ton but the ones I have, I am dedicated to.
  • Sweet tea (It is my crack.)
  • Green tea (I like to think this balances out the large amounts of sugars I intake)
  • Run's house (deep down I want Dallas and I to become them. I love them. The next time I'm in Jersey I'm considering dropping in on them)
  • Keeping up with the Kardashians (I love this show with a passion. It makes me want 3 girls...minus the foul language and X rated videos)
I'm sure there are loads more, but that's all I'm willing to share at this moment.
Until tomorrow. Have I mentioned that I miss Dallas terribly? Oh. I stinks to be apart.


Aunt Amanda has Sadie (Brittany's little girl) and Aunt Mhari's got the princess. 
The party was packed and Reese was loving the music!!



It's all about the puffs!! All good parties have 'em.

Sunday, April 20, 2008

We're back!


Such a fun weekend! We were sad to leave Boo & David. Reese, however, was not sad to leave the pack-n-play. She is longing for her crib. I'll divulge more later, but for now, let's get some pictures up of this princess. I know you missed her...(If your wondering, we don't wear this outfit everyday. These were taken Friday when we arrived in Evans. She has other clothes!)

Reese had a busy, fun weekend with her Aunt & Uncle. They are so good to her. Aunt Boo devotes all her time and energy to the princess. So, let's recap...

Aunt Boo worked on Reese's clapping skills. She's almost got it down as you can see!


They also perfected her walking skills.


And she was pulling herself up on everything in their house. She kept letting go as if to say "Boo, I got this girl!" Aunt Boo, of course, was there to catch her every step of the way.


That was Day One. We had dinner and hit the sack. Reese, however, did not think her pack-n-play was so fabulous. She used to sleep great in it, but not so much now. About 2:30 am she woke up and got in bed with Mommy. Just so you know, I am not an advocate of this. Reese has slept in her crib since she was 3 weeks old. I am not a fan of kids sleep in the bed with mom & dad. That is only my opinion, though. I think it's good for her and gives her space at night. Some independence, ya know? Please, no one go postal on me, explaining how yours kids slept with you til they were eighteen and turned out just fine, I'm just telling you my beliefs. She did sleep great with me. I, on the other hand, slept terrible because I was so worried she'd roll off the bed or something. I think I woke up every 5 minutes!

Saturday was so much fun...I'll post pics soon!!

Friday, April 18, 2008

my own



Finally got out today and shot some pics of my own flesh and blood.  I'll have more when we get back into town, but here's a few for now.  She is such a good model.  I guess she kinda has no choice.  Just the lady with the camera following me again...  
We are headed to Boo and D's house for a fun weekend.  Reese is pumped about it.  We've got a short 2 hour drive ahead to Augusta.  Can't wait.  One on one time with Boo & D.  I've also got a photo shoot lined up on Saturday.  So, we'll have a busy time.  I'll probably be MIA from the blog this weekend, so look for me back on Sunday. 

Auf Wiedersehen.  

Sorry, I know I'm not Heidi Klum but I've always wanted to say that.

her best friend.


It's been a fun morning here at Meme's.  She's off today, so mommy slept in (whew-hoo) and we've played.  Before we headed out to run errands, Reese spotted her man outside.  I know Daddy will be upset when he reads this, but as of this moment, this is the man in her life.  She adores him. She spotted him outside (because he was barking) and took off towards the door.  She was trying to talk to him through the door.  I'm pretty sure all he was saying back was "okay little girl, I'm going to need you to reach up to that knob, turn it and pull."  Partners in crime.

Thursday, April 17, 2008

back in the day

I have to say "back in the day" now because, well, I'm thirty...did you see that coming? Probably.
But today Reese and I traveled back in time. We went to have lunch with all my old school homies at my first job out of college. There were some good times had in this place baby. It really wasn't work. It was paid play. I had some good times, fell in love with so many people, learned so much and laughed til I dropped most days.

A few of us got together today for lunch. I miss them so much. I was 20 when I met them. Ten years ago! Crazy. They are amazing people. Love them so much. Reese just ate up all the attention and I think she would like to go back real soon. I snapped just a few pics.

laughing with Randy. (I loved his beard. I was petting his beard like Rookie!)

Ms. Pam a.k.a. Super Grandma!


And my B.A.D. Love her. She let me rip up some paper on her desk. Hope it wasn't important...

After lunch, we hopped in the jogger stroller and headed up to Meme's office. They needed their Reese fix. We try and accommodate them every few days. Aunt Boo popped by on her way home, so Reese got lots of attention. This is her world. I'm just livin' in it.

After that, we played. She played in my camera bag. If she spots my bag or camera, it's on. Her eyes light right up! Thanks Meme, Aunt Boo & Uncle D for my new bag. By the way, these bags are the best. They got me the medium, but the small has plenty of room. They are in my sidebar & are really cute camera bags!

sweetie.


Somehow I missed this picture the other day when I shot her 9 month photos.  I found it today as I was backing up to my hard drive and fell in love.  
She is the sweetest little chick right now.  She has a major mommy attachment, but goes right to people.  Men or women.  She doesn't discriminate.  If you'll pay attention to her, she's yours.  What will she ever do if we have another.  Or if Boo & D have a baby?  Will she have to share her Meme and Papa?  I smell trouble...

Wednesday, April 16, 2008

its the little things

I know I have emphasized this before, but seriously, kids are entertained by the funniest things. So, this is Reesie's newest love-GUM.  Yep, gum.  Mom was laughing hysterically telling me this story yesterday and I finally got to experience it for myself earlier today.

Reese has always been a child that loves faces.  Since she was tiny, she would look me dead in the eyes, grab my cheeks with her itty bitty hands and gaze at me as if to say "Look at me woman" or "Wow, Mommy I love you."  I like to believe it's the latter.  Well, her new thing is looking for your gum.  Mom and I are habitual gum smackers and Reese loves it!  She finds it terribly amusing and dedicates as much time as need be to locate your gum. In your mouth!  The minute she sees you chomping away, she begins her quest.  Must open mommy's mouth and get this gum. Then, as soon as you laugh because this little person is practically digging in your mouth, she falls out laughing too!  I don't know how good I painted this picture for you, but it is priceless.  Hilarious.  She is a trip.  Maybe she'll be a dentist or a treasure hunter...either way you better chew quietly if she's around.  

Did another shoot today...6 grandkids-so fun!  


Tuesday, April 15, 2008

In debt

I am in debt to my friends BIG TIME! What would I do without all of my friends and family's support?

I found myself reflecting on this over the weekend. I was so distraught over leaving Dallas/missing Reesie and my "support team" made everything go over smooth. First, I need to thank Martain (she's a second mamma, my best friend Mhari's mom) for the endless amounts of buddy passes she gives me. I think she is the only reason I have been able to visit all the cool places to go see Dallas. I don't think I've paid full price for a Delta ticket in years. It is almost impossible to book a flight in advance in this lifestyle. Inevitably, if you book a ticket in advance, he will get called up or something happens and you have to reschedule. (Maybe I should book one to ABQ...hhhmmmm)

Mom & Dad are amazing Meme & Papa's. I always thought a mother's love ran deep, but I think someone's passing me on the love-o-meter. My parents adore her. Everything she does is perfect. When their with her you hear things like "She is hilarious." and, my personal favorite "Let me tell you what she did, she is a genius." If only everyone thinks of us as our grandparents do. (although I like to think she's got some genius going on and I know she's got some smartelic, stand-up comedy routines in her head or she wouldn't be my child). Mom and the girls headed to see Menopause the Musical Sunday, so Papa came to babysit. He had a blast and so did Reesie. Everyone is always amazed at how good my Dad is with her. He's a trouper. Storytime, gymnastics, babysit for hours, changing stinky diapers...he's done it all. A real man. Thanks Daddy!!

Saving the best for last. Donna. Or as she likes to be called B.A.D. (beautiful Aunt Donna). She is one of those friends that you know will always be there for you. No matter what the circumstance. I met her during my internship in college (public relations) and then she was crazy enough to hire me. I know your probably questioning her abilities right now, but she knows a good thing when she sees it. (right Scott?? her hubby) Anyhoo, we've known each other for nine years now and she is family. I know I am not half the friend she is to me and I wonder if I'll ever be able to repay her for all she has done. Probably not. Although, I did wear a wedding dress from the 80's (puffy sleeves and all) and pretend to be Cinderella for her daughter's birthday party. Let's see, there was also the Britney Spears party where I wore a headset and taught dance routines. (Gosh, aren't you glad I'm not having to imitate her now? I can just picture it...scary) I've been Dorothy from the Wizard of Oz. Oh, there was also Snow White. I feeling like I'm losing you and you may be questioning our stability. To sum up, we just have fun together! A blast to be exact. But aside from the fun, she is this amazing friend. Amazing mother. I could not get back Sunday b/c of American Airlines and their perfect timing of cancelling a gazillion flights. So, who's comes to the rescue to babysit Reesie? Yep, you guessed it. What would I do without her? Oh, and not to mention her mom (Reese's 2nd Meme). She comes through for me all the time too. It makes you realize how good friends are in life. They are irreplaceable. Especially this one.

A picture from the tub. Reese loves to play. I guess all babies do, but this chick loves it. Her favorite is letting the water run. She tries to catch it! Hilarious!


flashback


Since he is all that is on my mind lately, I thought I'd give you a flashback. Came across this and it melted my heart.  I can't believe she was that tiny.  He is missing Reesie so bad.  Seeing this might make it worse, but I had to open it.  

She sees his picture on the fridge and just stares & smiles. Last night I said da da's calling and she did a quick turn of her head to look at his picture. Mom & I were amazed...

Isn't he a cool guy?  

We sure think so.

Monday, April 14, 2008

lights.

(Got my Camera.)


Action!

Three steps to a successful homerun....

1.Big Swing...



2.Congrats at the plate...


3.And the inevitable butt smack. 
No homer is complete without it.


Thought I'd give ya a laugh. See you tomorrow!!

I am a woman of my word


I think she wanted to drive to New Mexico. Yep, dallas and I choose to believe she missed us that much. I flagged this particular one because she was giving me a look like someone else I know...hmmm..

Oh, and another of reesie's pretty smile! Have a great day!


georgia on my mind

She really was. The entire trip. And at 12:30 pm today I got to hold that little pumpkin in my arms.

I should have gotten a speeding ticket for the mph I was traveling from Atlanta's Hartsfield airport to Firehouse Subs to meet Meme and Reesie cup. Seeing her was amazing. I swear, in 3 days she has longer hair and she's taller. crazy. At this stage they grow and change everyday, truly. None the less, I was equally distraught over the fact that if I am settled here, it means Dallas is far away. It really is a catch 22. Either way I am miserable without the other mac. Good things really do come in three's. (except for strikes...we like those more in one's.)

I am utterly exhausted from rising at 4 am only to leave Dallas and head back home. It has been a very long day. Mostly emotionally draining. I wish I could be in two places at once. You realize that, as a mom, you really wear a lot of hats. One no more important than the other. You are equally needed and likewise equally need them. Did I lose ya? If I'm following myself on 4 hours rest, then you guys should be able to keep up.

Stay with me. So, I was beginning to think that for the rest of the 08 season I needed to watch Dallas play via the computer. When I arrived he had 3 homers, tons of walks and was hitting 400 something. In walks Mrs. No hits. Seriously, just couldn't get lucky if he tried at the plate. He was hitting balls right to people, etc. Finally, yesterday, he hit a homerun. I like to think it was for me. It made me smile. I think his average will be glad that I'm gone. I am no good luck charm. The robber of all hits.

Enough baseball talk. I loath deep baseball talk and I refuse to be a wife who dwells on it. So, we had a great date night yesterday. Rented a movie and stayed in. Relaxation was key. I did want to help the Isotopes stadium redeem itself with you all. I finally found a positive to the experience (other than seeing Dallas play of course), Orbit. He's the mascot. Hands down, the best mascot I have ever seen. And you people need to realize I have seen 'em. All the way to "Sir Purr" (panthers mascot). I never knew until I cheered how serious they take their job. Now, before you laugh, there is a chance, a very large chance they make more money than you. Seriously. The NFL and especially NBA mascots make bank. Now, I'm not saying Mr. Orbit is livin' the dream, but I bet this is a stepping stone for bigger things. He was good. Hilarious. Worth every penny of my free ticket.

That's it for now. I have lots of photos to edit, sleep to catch, and am waiting on Reesie to wake from her nap.

Pictures coming soon. I know you think I say that a lot, but they are coming!

Saturday, April 12, 2008

warning:

The following blog is not rehearsed. There are no actors involved.  It has not been edited to fit your computer screen.  This is real life.  Actual events.

First, I'll start with the good stuff. Today we found a great outdoor shopping area right up the road.  So fun! We had lunch at McAlister's..yummy (brings back memories of Little Rock) and just maxed and relaxed.   Turns out there is life here.  

Let me bring you up-to-date on yesterday's events.  It was an eventful day for Jenn.  I've always been one of those "it only happens to you" kinda people.  All of you already know this about me. So here's how it played out:

  1. Ran to Walmart (couldn't find a Target, of course) to buy some cheap winter garb.  Hat, scarf, some lovely mittens. Know what they had?  Swimsuits.  Yep, not a warm piece of fabric in the place.  This just reconfirms my beliefs on ole Wally mart.  
  2.  Arrive at the game just a bit before the first pitch and am informed that the players lot is "full." I'm no mathematician, but here's what ran through my mind as the lot attendee was talking:  HUGE player lot+most of the players cars have not arrived from being shipped from fla+only 3 wives here+I technically have Dallas' one car that will occupy his one space= plenty of empty spaces for jenn to have rockstar parking this evening.  Either half of the team has extended family in ABQ or this man is not doing his job. 
  3. So, I proceed to pull into some special area that, by the way, did NOT have signs posted that I was evidently not supposed to drive over.  Oopsy.  The baseball park employee was not amused.  He was not a gentleman.  I apologized first, then proceeded to inform him that he may want to invest in some signs, banners, posters, or perhaps he could wear a t-shirt that says "Do not drive your car in this spot, right here, this exact spot.  Oh, and I am a jerk."  I'm sure he'll do that for the next game.  
  4. Next, I walk in the stadium (to the popular sounds of Country Boys Can Survive") which I knew meant my hubby was at the plate.  I know, we like to just go ahead and let em know we're a little redneck.  No need to put on a facade.  They think it anyway when you are 6'4, you have a mean stare, brought your fishing gear on the plane and are from a small North Carolina town.  I am about to glance down at my ticket and familiarize myself with this enormous place, when a gust of 30 mph winds come through and my ticket takes on a life of it's own.  Yep, I watched as my ticket went on a joy ride through the park.  I stood there, watched Dallas draw a walk (yeah) and went on a quest to find the "family section."  FYI: this is quite easy to find.  Just look for the only girls in the place not dressed appropriately for a baseball game.  Their hair is perfect, their jeans are expensive, they have a "please don't talk to me and find out I'm a player's wife" look on their face, they look stressed out watching the game (as if their husband's entire career lies on that one out), oh, the ultimate...they have on heels.  It never fails.  
  5. So, found it.  The temperature was dropping by the inning.  Each time I looked up, it was colder.  Another wife saw me in my frost and offered to show me the family room.  Cha-Ching! Yes, folks, I watched the remainder of the game from the comforts of a couch and tv.  Ah, I loved it.  On a side note...the announcers actually dropped a line about Dallas' love for Nascar on his 3rd AB.  So, officially we are the hicks of the team.  It gave me a good laugh.  priceless. 
  6. After the game we learn that 2 of the 3 guys Dallas has "bonded" with got sent down.  Crazy.  They are good players.  This game is unpredictable.  You just never know.  So, now Dallas has to try and get by with one friend or become a little more outgoing.  Yeah, I predict he'll stick with just the one.
  7. If that's not enough, we snuggle into bed by 2 am and just as we are counting sheep... the fire alarm goes off.  Yep, loud as it can be.  So, jenn and half of the Isotopes venture out in the freezing cold at 3 am.  

This, my dear, is a day in the life.  Who needs reality tv?  This is where it is people. 
reesiepieciepoo.com.  No editing needed.  

See ya Sunday.

Friday, April 11, 2008

I am here

Yep.  I arrived late last night in gorgeous Albuquerque, New Mexico.  I am ready to move here. It is absolutely wonderful.  

Sike.

Had you going right?  Admit it.  I had you going. You probably cheated and read ahead, but regardless, let's get one thing straight "This place is not so fabulous."  uh. uh.  Unless I meet Julia tomorrow, which can still happen people, then, only then, I would consider relocating. She must live in the really "special" part of New Mexico that I have yet to see. 

Really, though, this is no Salt Lake.  Salt Lake AAA was the Sheraton beds, decent shopping (there was a nordstrom), I found the Chick-fil-A, cool downtown.  You know the drill. Albuquerque (which by the way, I hate having to type and spell over and over, so let's  call it ABQ..a little airport code for ya) is kinda like a bad Arizona.  We love the desert, but this...nothing to love. No offense, Randy, I know your gonna give me some slack about this particular blog...

So, let's focus on the positive...Dallas.  I got to see my honey!  Oh, It was wonderful. It has only been 2 weeks, but we really have not been apart in forever. 2 weeks was a lifetime.  I landed at 11:30 and he had just landed from Denver at 11, so it was perfect.  Got the bags, got the car and headed to the hotel.  We stayed up talking like teenagers (these are the references you can make when your 30) and laughed all night.  He is my best friend. Such a cliche, I know.  I'm sure a few of you just barfed a little, but it's true.  I found my soulmate

I can't wait to see him play tonight.  He has been doing great.  I think he is enjoying baseball again.  He has made so many new friends.  It is a blessing that he is with this team.  His roommate is from Alabama and other close friend is a Georgia boy (you know he's good people). His wife is preggo with a girl due in July.  Sound familiar?  God is awesome. He places people in our lives for a reason.  I am so glad Dallas is enjoying his teammates.  Don't get me wrong, he'd rather be with the big fish (pardon the pun), but this is good for him.  The stadium here is very cool. It is huge and maybe the best minor league ballpark I've seen. They get a larger crowd than the big leagues...doesn't say much for the marlins, but they get 8,000 a night. Crazy! Don't worry, I will snap some pics of the place. No need for you to travel to ABQ, I'll bring it and all it's glory to the comfort of your living room.  

I have to apologize for the absence of my reesie cup.  I actually took shots of her yesterday especially for you, but in the midst of packing and running around I was unable to get them posted.  Please forgive me.  I promise to shower you with pics of the baby girl next week.  I'll make it up to you...  I am missing her terribly. Her and Meme are social butterflies.  They are all over the place.  When I called this morning they were exercising and having a grandma play date at the park.  So funny....

Time to go, gotta run and get ready before the game.  Bbbbrrrr...it's gonna be cold tonight. Can't wait to hang with Dallas after the game.  It's like old times....staying up late, hanging out,talking in the restaurant, renting a movie. 

I do miss my girl so much.  Daddy is miserable without his cup. We are sending Reesie a big kiss right now...

Happy Friday all!

Wednesday, April 9, 2008

da.da.

she said it!  At 9 am this morning in Meme's living room,  she said "da.de.da.da.de."
Unfortunately I am pretty sure she did not know who she was talking about since Da Da was in Des Moines, Iowa.  

Later today, she has repeatedly said da.da.  Once while pointing at her babydoll, another when Meme walked in and again as she was screaming in the car ride home from visiting Meme's office. But we'll take it!  She's so stinkin cute when she says it that I wouldn't care if she was pointing to a trash can.  Dallas is missing her so bad.  Me, Reese & Rookie all crawl in the bed and talk to him on skype.  I am in awe, Reese just stares and Rookie goes coo-coo.  He turns his head from side to side, whines and then runs all over the house looking for Dallas.  You can tell Dallas' heart melts. He loves his daddy. We all do...

I am headed to see Dallas late tomorrow night thru Sunday.  Dallas and I are so excited!  We will have a whole weekend together!  I am going to miss Reesie cup so terribly much, but I know we need this. Marriages need alone quality time.  And it's not like Reese isn't with the best babysitter in the world.  She adores Meme and Reese is her Meme's whole world.  Aunt Boo is even coming to hang with Reesie tomorrow night.

Til tomorrow.  I'll keep ya'll updated from Albuquerque...whew hew!!

Sorry no pics of reesie...I'll getcha some tomorrow!  

Monday, April 7, 2008

9 months



April 7, 2008.

9 months ago I gave birth the most incredible gift God can give. Everyday for the past 9 months I wake up more excited than the last to see what experience we will share today. I am rewarded with the love of this amazing little girl. Just when you think this motherhood thing can't get any better, it does. She scream, she laughs, she gives you the "dallas face" (very serious/what the crap are you looking at), she grabs your cheeks and stares you right in the eyes, she stands, she walks...the list goes on and on. A mothers love is truly unconditional.

Enough of the mush, I know you want the good stuff. The Reese "gossip" if you will. Who needs TMZ...this chick has her own paparazzi. In-house media. So here's the scoop:

So we reached the 9 month mark. I think she knows it to because she's been extra sassy today. We've been laughing all morning. Her new thing is this really loud, high pitched scream. Especially when she sees her Meme. The look on her face when my mom walks in the room is priceless. She lights up. She has that attachment to me like no other, but a good glimpse of Meme and she's hooked. Of course, a perfectly good stranger can talk to her and she screams in excitement too. She is our social butterfly to say the least.

For the past several weeks she has been trying to talk. She will look at you with this look like "I am about to tell you the most unbelievable secret" and then some jibberish comes out. She gets herself very worked up for this. It's as if she has so much to say but just can't spit it out. I know anyday now we're going to hear those first words. I live for it. Someday soon the girl's gonna be filling me in on the good stuff.

Another anyday now for Reese is walking. She no longer sits. Sitting is not an option. Well, maybe if you can work some puffs in with the sitting. Nope, this girls got places to go, people to see. Her planner is booked. The couch, the toybox, the table, then back again. Her latest thing is the "I trust that mommy will catch me" so I'll just let go and try this on my own. Oh, yes, I am on constant watch. If you hold her hands she is putting one foot in front of the other. I was a 9 month walker, so I'm thinking she's taking after me. It is the cutest thing to see her walking and standing up. I swear, she has grown up so fast. I am not ready for this.

That's most of the good stuff she's up to. She is an absolute joy. I keep saying "this is my favorite stage" but then I have that same feeling the next month, so I know the future is going to be amazing. Can you believe she will be 1 in 3 months! OMG....that I'm NOT ready for!






Heading to Houston's tomorrow night with the girls for my birthday celebration (I know, this will be the 2nd trip in as many days, but it's Houston's...you can't turn that down!!)

Sunday, April 6, 2008

the view

from my bed this morning...



my two babies brought me a happy birthday cupcake!!  

Having Reese in my life is the best present I could ever ask for...I am so blessed.

The BIG 3-0!

Wow.  I can't believe it.  I am 30.  

I am not bothered by the fact that when people ask how old I am I have to answer "thirty". Nor is it that for the next 3 months I am technically 3 years older than Dallas. (He lives for the days between April 6 and July 23). For clarification, we are TWO years apart. I was born in '78. Him in '80.  If I need to I will have you a list of celebrities that married younger men in a flash. Everyone's doing it.  I'm just following the trend people.  No really, I think most of my girlfriends married younger guys. You know who you are. I'll name drop if I have to. 

So thirty.  It makes me think of when I was really little and mom watched that show thirty something.  Remember that show?  I couldn't tell you a thing about it nor who it starred, but I thought it was a bunch of boring old ladies.  Not Golden Girls old, but old. You know?  And now here I am.  I like to think that our generation of thirty somethings would have a much cooler tv show.  Something more along the lines of FRIENDS. Yes, definitely FRIENDS.

I am realizing the things that are now a part of the "past" for me:

1. Opening up In Style and looking in the "what to wear for your age" section (you know the one) or the "right skincare for your age" section and looking in the IN YOUR TWENTIES part. Nope, I need to shift my eyes on down to the THIRTIES section.  The "you need something to reduce wrinkles and moisten your dry, aging skin section."

2. "Dallas and Jenn?  Oh their in their twenties... Nope, Dallas is twenty-something.  Jenn, she's actually THIRTY." I can hear it now.

3.  Being able to say "I hope to do that before I'm thirty."  This is stupid anyway.  Is their some kind of deadline? I hear this a lot. "I want to have all my kids before I'm thirty" or "I want to be married before I'm thirty."   Do you get a cookie for that?  Nope.  Not the last time I checked.

4.   No more checking the 20-29 box on the medical forms we all have to fill out.  Skimming on down to the 30-39 box.  

Ouch...that one hurt a little.  

I think I'll add my own box like: [] barely thirty.  I'll check that one.

Okay, that was fun.  I hope you guys enjoy reading my jibberish.  I really am excited.  Like I said before, I love a good birthday.  Any reason to celebrate.  I like to think I am a little wiser today. Yep, I feel it.  

I've always loved the movie 13 going on 30. Remember "thirty, flirty and thriving?"  Skip the flirty part (unless I'm in Albuquerque) and that's me! She longed to be thirty.  This is when life begins people! You're officially a woman (or a man depending on who's reading this)!  The best is yet to come! 

I like to believe that my twenties were just a glimpse of how great life can be.  If I had a time capsule here's what I would put inside:
  • my college diploma
  • my pr, medical sales and personal training careers
  • all the cities I traveled to with my job (flight after flight)
  • all of my memories with Donna, Deb, Amanda, Mhari, Audrey, Michelle, Lisa, Mauri, Tiff, Boo, Mom and Dad
  • living in Atlanta with "the girls"
  • our famous girl road trips
  • buying my first home 
  • the day I met Dallas
  • cheering in front of 70,000+ fans in the NFL
  • seeing Dallas play in his first big league game and first playoff game in Boston
  • the night he proposed
  • our wedding day
  • buying our first house together
  • picking out Rookie
  • our honeymoon
  • all of Dallas' surgeries 
  • riding in the car on long trips with Dallas talking
  • a picture of Nanny 9/05...the feistiest woman I've ever known
  • finding out we were pregnant
  • the miracle of Reese coming into our lives
  • everyday of Reese's life with us
If your reading this and mad that I left off something important, sorry, I'm thirty, not young anymore, it happens.

So thirty here I come.  Full speed ahead!!

Heading to church today and a bridal shower.  

Happy Sunday everyone!