Tuesday, January 26, 2010

Princess.

We've had a busy last few days. Lots of great family time. I've been so busy that I haven't taken any shots of my little stinker.
So, last night Reese goes to her Daddy (with her super sweet face & voice) and said, "Daddy, will you let me have a Princess Ball and will you be my Prince?"
cue Daddy's heart melting...
In less than 4 seconds she was wearing this...

And he was wearing his jeans, a blazer and his converse...too cute.
I'll post some video of their "ball" later.
We went to Hobby Lobby later dressed just like this!!
I had a newborn shoot today (so fun) and Dallas took his princess to see Tooth Fairy. Her prince is devoted...
I need to address the vaseline. Yes, praise Jesus, it DID come out.
She looked like she had been left in the pouring rain for 3 days.
Baking soda does not work.
Dawn dishwashing detergent DOES.
She missed 2 days of school (b/c it's all about the hair right???)
I am trying to not leave my Vaseline out like candy. Sorry, remember my lip crap I had summer of 2008? Vaseline was my soulmate and I haven't been able to kick the habit...

Wednesday, January 20, 2010

documentation.

This is why "we" (mama's) blog.
Today this happened.
I was in my office editing.
Dallas was in the shower.
Reese (aka "the greaser") was being a sweet little girl in our bedroom, just hanging out.
Dallas yells, "Oh My Gosh, what have you done?" and then starts dying laughing.
I came to see what all of the commotion was about.
My eyes have a permanent visual of the scene I witnessed.
Reese had taken a FULL, HUGE bottle of Vaseline and slathered herself in it. We are talking full on bath in Vaseline. It was at least 2 inches thick on her chest. Her face was so slimy it was white, it shimmered. Her eyes were stuck. Her hair was like a bad 50's movie.
OMG.
After you are done laughing, if you have any tips (aside from a million shampoos, baking powder or dawn) PLEASE send them our way.
We are gonna be shining our way to Arizona at this point...

Tuesday, January 19, 2010

LOVE her.


My girl.
(I wish I was relaxing like this right now...she's got the life...)
Thank you to Aunt Mhari for spending last night hanging with us and Reese LOVES her Dora (also pronounced DoughRA) train set! You are the best!
I spent all day today shooting (with my camera) newborn twins (Morris & Kate) with my friend Brooke. It was so much fun working together! I missed my baby girl. Her and her "best friend" Daddy had a great day together though!
By the way, at dinner we gave the cashier at McAlister's Deli (yum) a heartattack when he asked how our day went. Brooke replied "We spent the day shooting babies." SOMEBODY CALL 911!!
That pretty much made our day...

Saturday, January 16, 2010

HAPPY.

Hope you're having a great weekend! Also, read my business blog today. I'm so thankful for all the gifts photography brings into my life...

Thursday, January 14, 2010

sista

Thanks Aunt Boo for being my "best fwind" today-love, Reesie
Boo's baby shower is rapidly approaching and it's at this overworked, boggled down behind on editing mama's house. I am really excited...got to finish up work so I can focus on the little details. Here's her shower invite:
And Boo card back...

Thanks Boo! A shout out to the fabulus Braddy's for coming over to play today! We love you!

Wednesday, January 13, 2010

where she sleeps...

Only a week later than promised but that pretty much sums up how I roll these days. I finally have pics of Reese's room! I had a really good time decorating it. I tried to be creative and make it represent "her." It's been close to done for a while but I ordered her frames late and spent forever deciding on colors. Dallas (and my dad who has had to hang everything) joke that it's only done for now. I get these ideas and I start changing everything around! Oh well.
Right when Reese turned two, she looked at her Daddy and said, "I no sleep in a crib. I a big durl." I came home the next day to find a full mattress right in her floor. Oh, yes, he did it. Daddy could have cared less. Uhm, yeah, we're not leaving it like that. Reese was so good, never slept in her crib again. We did get our poor child a bed and slowly after that I decided on everything for her room.
After months pottery barn, land of nod catalogs and nothing looking like "her" I went fabric shopping. My mom made all of her bedding & pillows, my neighbor custom made her curtains, etc. I am really, really happy with it! Here's some pics:
Princess's Room! Mom was my litle factory worker this fall and did an amazing job! She gives kookoobearkids a run for their money...Bed is pottery barn teen. I fell in love with it instantly! I wanted to her to have a double bed. I always liked big beds when I was a kid, so here it is. I liked how shabby chic it was...(Thanks Papa for the bed!!)

Her frame over her bed...

another angle...

Curtains a la my fabulous neighbor Stephenie! The vanity I got a year ago at the PB outlet for $130.

Phone from Papa that gets used 20 times a day by Reese...

My girlfriend Michelle got Reese this last weekend. SO sweet & it matched perfectly!

Both sides of the vanity...I went to Michael's and bought boxes, cheap journals, etc and covered them. Voila! Threw some bows on the baskets and it's done!

Curtains...She put these cute little daigly things (real technical) on the curtains and I thought it was so cute!

Nightstand clock, lamp...Still trying to decide if I want to paint the teacups...

Nightstand. Got it at PB kids as a floor sample for 60% off...

Shelf on the other side of the room...(I still need pics in one frame)

Her chiffioner. Got it at an antique store for $175...oh, and that's her storyboard framed above it!

Book shelf I got a couple of years ago at pb on clearance $125...(made the birdhouse, well, painted it...ha!!)

And my favorite part! I have LOVED (more of an obsession) Louis Antoinette chandeliers forever and always wanted one (the knockoffs are brutal) but wasn't paying $650 for a light. Got this from a friend who was moving for cheap, went to Joann's and got the shades, covered them in her polka dot material, hot glued the pom poms on, then mom made the stripe cord cover to tie it all in! I love it...

Spray painted this ceiling mount for $8. to tie in more green...

I'll share her bathroom next. I have it all done except one thing I ordered 4.5 months ago from kookoobearkids that is still not in (I'm not bitter) and my fabulous mom is back in her factory making the roman shade for the bathroom. Hope everyone's having a great week! I spent yesterday with another college friend at my house shooting her 3 week old little boy and today my sista is here for the night! Lots of fun!

Monday, January 11, 2010

Weekend recap.

I am kicking off my year at a rapid pace. Seriously, I can hardly remember a break this weekend, well worth it though. I set out Saturday morning for Montgomery to visit my college best friend and her 3rd baby...a girl! She finally got her girl! Reese spent the day with her Gigi and they played, met up with Isabella and her grandma and once again went to see the squeaquel. Hilarious. Reese loves the chipmunks!
As I was headed out interstate 85 towards Alabama I felt like I was in college again. I was jammin out to music. (I actually was a good 20 minutes into my ride before I realized I was listening to DORA on dvd (which I can't even see). I am all into that new Casey Donahew Band song. Have you heard it? Maybe it's because I was headed to Alabama but I LOVE it... Sure to bring out the redneck in anyone and make you want to be on the front row at their concert.
Baby Carlee was so cute and I had a blast with Michelle, her mom, sweet grandparents, Casey's family...everyone! I'll post pics soon.
I got in late Saturday and then Sunday we drove up to my Dad's for a Papa day. We went to lunch and then all drove up to Cleveland, Georgia to visit babyland General. Remember Cabbage Patch kids? OMG me and my sister loved them. No, really. Everytime we were in Toys R US, Walmart we looked at them to see if a baby had our exact name (which I'm surprised wasn't more often since Boo and I have names like everyone else...) I can even remember going as a kid and picking out my baby Karson. (which Reese loves to play with a Gigi's)
They have a new location as of a few months ago. It's so cute. They have a huge hospital, nurses, doctors, delivery rooms and lots of baby cabbages! Best part...it's free (well, until you walk through with a 2 year old that needs one.more.doll. and has a Papa that gets her everything)
I really didn't take a lot but here's a few from our day at Babyland...
Looking at some of the older babies in the Nursery with her favorite guys...

There were several rooms like this filled with cribs and a million babies. I couldn't get a picture. She was like a kid on crack she was so excited to see so many...

This is where they are born (the cabbage tree)

IV for the newborns (or maybe that's drugs for the mother cabbage to get through the birth)...

Watching a birth...you get to help name the baby..it was a girl!

Nursery where she was weighed, bathed, etc...

She did lots of running around the place, picking up every baby. She loved this one. Dallas wanted to get her this little girl. Can you imagine Reese being the sole maintainer of that hair? Really??? Poor child...

She pushed strollers around, stole bathtubs, bottles, everything...

Here was one of the cabbage patch's that we could choose babies from...(the cabbages move too...really cool)

Close up. At any given time, Papa, daddy & mommy all found cute babies and yelled things like "ooohh, I like her...." or "you should get this one it has on a baseball uniform..." Uhm, she chose a "dirl" that had on of of those outfits you get at your baby shower and then hide far, far back in the closet never to be seen again...(you know you've all done it.)

And the ride home. Reese has never taken a paci. Mainly because she was a thumb sucker the first 4 months of life (the other b/c her Gigi hates them on kids past the baby stage! Your secrets out...) but ever since Baby Grace left Reese is obsessed. Every night of her life she does a fake sleeping baby act (the girl needs an agent) and now, her new prop is a paci. It wasn't just 6 months ago that one of her babies came with one and she asked us (very serious) "what is this???"Now, she needs one to sleep...

She's holding the newest addition to the McPherson family, baby Ruby Belle McPherson. Her birthday is July 7. (that's odd) and I would have a pic of her birth announcement but I left it in the backpocket of Papa's truck (daddy if you could just hold onto that for us!). Reese likes Ruby but her Daddy asked the nurses what the "hot" name of 2010 was and it was Bella. So, he took that and came up with Belle. (Reese does love Belle from Beauty and the Beast) Great job Daddy, another southern name in the family. Nothing screams "I'm from the south" more than "Ruby Belle." Oh, dear...
Thanks Papa for a great time!!
On another note, I have officially blogged this month as much as last. Whoo hoo! That is an accomplishment people. Only goes up from there!

Friday, January 8, 2010

Friday

Happy Friday everyone! Today was a snow day in Georgia (which I'm sure you people up North would laugh at southerner's version of a "must cancel school, no one leave their house, snow day...) Reese isn't at the age to really understand/cherish a day off from school. So, we just laid low. I did some much needed cleaning while she serenaded me on her piano...
And then she built her princess castles...
Dallas and I headed out for a fun date night tonight! Reese went with Gigi to the bounce place with Suzanne (mom's best friend) and her granddaughter Isabella. They are so cute together. She's having a Gigi sleepover tonight too!
Qick share...another bonus of our fall photo shoot. Got the silhouette shot I wanted for out little entry way nook. I love it! I need to post the pic. Reese is on her very tippy toes looking up at us...so funny!
Another view...
And sometime in the chaos of the holidays I got our living room collage done. Yippee!!

Headed out to Sweet Ole Alabama tomorrow for a newborn photo shoot for a friend! Fun, fun!!

Thursday, January 7, 2010

P90X Mcpherson style...

Every night Dallas does his P90x workout. Every night Reese wants to "exercise tooooooo." She broke Gigi's heart last weekend when Dallas and I were in the basement together. "Gigi, I want to doe exercise with mommy & daddy, my family." (She always tells us we are a family. I think she's worried about becoming the third wheel...) So, the other night she went. We said nothing. Within seconds, she was on her mat, watching Tony giving instructions on how to do russian twists.
She sat down, watched Tony telling her what to do and clasped her hands together just as she was told...

The girl's got perfect form...

I think she could do a V up better than me...

Look at the elevation. Turns out she does have some core muscles!!

I bet the P90x guy has never had this serious of a devotee...

Then, they did some side crunches. She was trying to do it just.like.her.daddy...

Adding her own twist to the program...

They finished up with some superman's. (good for the back) She is so serious about her training. At least one gal in the family is...

I've been ditched as a workout partner. He found a hotter chick to work with. Unfortunately, she's more dedicated too...

Wednesday, January 6, 2010

More...

Lookout, it's a photo of me & my special someone. (Sorry, I've watched ELF too much and the scene where he gives his dad the lingerie is embedded in my head) Thanks to my girlfriend Brooke for dealing with my crazy fam and getting this shot! I love it! It makes me happy. One normal, professional pic of me & my best friend since Reese was born. Don't hold your breathe for the next one. You remember our gangsta pic? At least we did get one minus the gang signs...
This is on my nightstand (I felt it could make company uncomfortable if it was over the mantle...) and Reese picked it up and started screaming (no, really, screaming....) "You're hurting my mommy!!" She was not happy...we were rolling though. We choose to lay it flat when she enters the room...

Back to more of the #1 chick tomorrow!
Uhm, yeah, it is like -0 degrees here in Georgia and I have a shoot today. If I survive and don't have to be unthawed, I'll let ya know how it went!!

Tuesday, January 5, 2010

My girl.

I never get to shoot pics of her (well, real pics. The ones like my clients get.) People think they are going to come to my house and see all these great pics. I should send them to one of my clients homes.
I did get a chance a few times this Fall to capture her and I am so thankful!
Check em out...
This one she did on her own...hilarious!

This is a 20x20 in my living room and it makes me smile everyday...

This was the Christmas photo shoot from heck...
See???
Oh, how I love her, though...

Is anyone else glued to the Kardashians yet wanting to vomit at the same time??? They stress me out.