Wednesday, December 30, 2009

3 weeks later...

Finally blogging my child's preschool Christmas party. Yes, it was forever ago. It was so cute too. I am a stinky mama. Gotta get better for my favorite girl. Here was her present from her teachers...

Her table. Gigi enjoyed her party too! Hayes is one of theboys in class she "chases." I hear her say "Got you, Hayes." Everyday in my car...

Showing Daddy & Papa stuff...

Going to pick out her book. (They did a book swap...so cute..)

My two cuties...

Sugar makes Reese a comedian. No, actually, she's a comedian all the time. This is her face to Papa...

Followed by more...it was a staredown...

Little laugh..

Big one...Green cookie mouth and all...

Her best friend Sadie...How cute is she laying on her? How funny is that?

The three cool chicks...Reese, Sadie & Abby.

And a couple snapshots from out huge family Christmas at my house a few weeks ago. There were over 40 of us and we were missing two whole families...we enjoy our eating...

The white elephant swap is serious fun...we get a little crazy...

I love having a house full...

Hope everyone had a Happy New Year!

Tuesday, December 29, 2009

Thank you, Papa...

A few weeks ago, Papa came down for the weekend and played with his #1 chick. After her Christmas program, he came back to the house to hang out with his girls. Reese thought this would be the perfect opportunity to ask if she could play with the fake can of snow we so "luckily" won during our family Christmas white elephant game.
Great.
Without a thought Papa took her out and they began to spray each and every hedge.
Fun!!
Reese loved.every.second.of.this.
I walked out and asked if that was my dad's best idea.
Next we read the can. Always a good idea after one begins a project.
Warning: Not for outdoor use may become difficult to remove if it becomes wet.
In case you don't live here, we've had the most wet winter EVER. It's like living in Seattle.
Oh, Joy.
Look at them go...



They did the entire left side of the house.
It did wash off and we had one very impressed Daddy (dallas) when he got home.

The Murphy's are on their way to Georgia for New Year's Festivities with us!!! Whew hoo!!
I am so excited! Party at our house....
4 kids all under the age of 6 and a bull mastiff.
Pure entertainment.

Friday, December 25, 2009

Merry Christmas!!

Merry Christmas everyone! We had a wonderful day! We sang Happy Birthday to baby Jesus (Reese loves to sing Happy Birthday and loves baby Jesus) Her Daddy and Uncle always add in the phrase "9 lb baby jesus...and some other quotes from Talladega Nights...awesome.)
Thank you Santa for coming!
He drank all of his milk...
And ate all 11 cookies...
And brought her lots of toys. Santa brought three, like he always has to represent the 3 gifts the wisemen brought Jesus. He brought her a Dora doll, Dora soccer ball & her pink fridge (that was out of stock last year...) The rest is from Mom & Dad, Papa & Gigi and Boo & D!

Thank you all!! We are off to North Carolina to see Dallas' family! Merry Christmas!

Thursday, December 24, 2009

Merry Christmas Eve!


I have so much to blog! We have been so busy.
Let's see.
Reese is hilarious. We went to Publix (she was in her pj's) just me and her around 8pm the other evening. We're on the canned food aisle when she (YELLS) It's Santa!! And points....while saying "Ho, Ho, Ho."
I was expecting to turn around and see Santa. Maybe a nighttime Publix employee who lost a bet or something.
Unfortunately, we live in the South.
Instead, we were just steps away from a middle aged man with a long grey beard, a dirty trucker cap and a beer belly that would challenge mine just days before giving birth to Reese.
Oh, dear.

We've drove around looking at lights, had lots of family time, shopped way too much. Lot's of fun!

Our Christmas Eve tradition is to go to Lenox Mall in Atlanta when they open to sit on Santa's lap (insider information...if you get there between 9-10am no one is there...) and then ride the pink pig. Reese was so excited about the pink pig. So was her Gigi.
THe pink pig is an Atlanta tradition. My mom rode it when she was a kid when it actually went around the top of the Rich's department store. Boo & I rode it as kids when it was on the roof of the downtown Rich's and now Reese (it's the 2009 version) outside of Macy's. So cool...
Reese cracked up on it.
We all had tickets but Daddy couldn't fit inside the ride. So sad.

Freezing as mom makes her get a quick pic outside...

Daddy telling her all about the ride while we wait...

Back in the day pink pig...

So proud of her ticket...

Heading on the elevator to Santa...chatting him up...

Walking through the mall, so excited for Santa!!

See? No one in line...it's small, but thinking we have the insider scoop on something makes us feel so cool...

Watching a santa video... this event had more prep time than my Monday Night Football performance...

While waiting, she got very lovey on her Daddy (she adores him...he is her best friend, puts her to bed every night of her life...)

And a love...

Daddy did the Santa pep talk...game face on, right before...

So, she did good!! She got right up there, sat in his lap, talked to him, listened to whatever it was he was telling her, but NEVER SMILED. She just gave us her best Daddy face and sat there. Alrighty....She did get a cookie right after since she didn't cry, that immediately made her smile...

After dinner, Gigi, Boo and Reese made cookies for Santa. Just to be sure, Reese tested out a few...(by the way, if Santa was late to your house, it's b/c my daughter put our 11 cookies for Santa and would not budge on that number...)

Merry Christmas to all (my blogger peeps) and to all a good night...

Monday, December 21, 2009

Christmas performance

Last Monday was Reese's Christmas musical and class party. Papa came to spend the night so he could be there. All four of us sat in the balcony so she couldn't see us. We thought we were so incognito. Turns out the girl's got really good family radar. Here is her walking on stage...(they all had to wear pj pants)

Not 5 seconds into her songs we all felt her gaze... Oh crap, no one look directly at her...
And, yes, we were busted. Can you tell how far away we were? How did she do it with that many people? She did really good though. She got stressed when Dallas' left the balcony to get closer and stopped in between songs to ask the teacher where he was. She also threw in some waves during the songs...

It was so cute. Reese did really good! She loves to talk about baby Jesus. She can tell you all about him! Melts my heart...

Sunday, December 20, 2009

Playing catch up...

Trying to blog.
I LOVE my blogging. It's me. I love telling stories, using my sarcasm that dances in my head as a way to better describe this family of mine. I never thought I'd let it slip. Never. This time I am really trying. I miss it so.
I did cave and join facebook. Here are my thoughts. I still think it's a little inappropriate but keep in mind I come from a family that will not let you wash clothes on New Years Day for the fear of washing someone you love out of your life. Even if we make them up, they are "beliefs" to us. Oh yes, it's true... It gets better. I love even numbers (hence our 12-18-04 wedding date) even though I will forever love Reese's 7.7.7 birthday (how can you not?). I am picky about months in which any children of mine can be born and in case your thinking of askig, for the sake of keeping you as blogger friends, I'll take them to my grave...
However, I like catching up with the college girls and it is great for business. By the way, if you aren't a fan on my business site, get on it (unless you think I stink, of course.)
In addition, I wholeheartedly think Facebook is nothing more than your typical Desperate Housewives episode. They aren't really friends, they just throw dinner parties calling lots of people to their home to say they have them and then snoop into their lives. Okay, that was harsh, but really, it's totally a place for the nosiest of nosy. Just a way to eaves drop without people knowing...you know I'm right.

I'm off my soap box.

Onto some events. Today we went shopping with Papa & Gigi and after a long exhausting day hit up the America Girl Bistro for some dessert. Yum.

Let's see. Dallas and I celebrated 5 years of marital bliss on Friday and went to Rathbun's in Atlanta (awesome, uber trendy & yummy steak, or so Dallas said, I only eat chicken...) then went the the W hotel for the night. We also were sure to squeeze in a very romantic trip to Toys R Us for 2 hours. We were like kids in there and one of us had to make the other put stuff back. I won't share which one...
And a quick pic. A couple of days ago Dallas and I were in deep conversation in the kitchen. Next thing I know he looks over at Reese and says, "Uncle." and walks out. We didn't know she had markers.

She was putting the markers on like a girl behind the MAC cosmetics counter...
Happy Week of Christmas!!
Reese is VERY into baby Jesus and LOVES to see nativity scenes and tell you who's in them. I'm such a proud mama...

Monday, December 14, 2009

Oh yes, I blogged.

Here's me these days.
  • I am finally rounding out Christmas orders. I had an awesome 2009 with my business. Awesome.
  • We had Reese's Christmas recital today at church/school. It was da bomb. Reese spotted her Daddy. Told the teacher in the middle of the ceremony. Sang some songs, did some major hand motions, then spotted Gigi/Papa and waved (for a while). Then, we all ate at the party. It was so much fun!
  • Yesterday, had 40 family members here for our family Christmas party. All at my house! F-U-N! Papa spent the night...more F-U-N.
  • I'm deciding if I want to start P90X or grab some of Gigi's pound cake. Both are equally intriguing.
  • I am needing to update my work facebook page but have I said this? Facebook is so not as cool as blogger to me. It's weird that people take 5 min. to write that they are about to cook spaghetti. Me writing this? Totally normal.
  • Reese tells us a lot. "Just one more minute." or "Not today." If kids learn from their parents, I have got to work on my multitasking. Poor thing, does her mama ever do things for her when she asks?
  • Reese. hates. Santa. Really. If you say ho, ho, ho. She'll tell you to stop quick like.
  • The baby in Boo's belly is only referred to as "Max." Ask her, she'll tell you, His name is Max. That's odd. Sadly, it's kinda growing on us. Is it growing on you, Boo?
  • Reese can tell you all about Baby Jesus. I LOVE that.
  • I have no Christmas shopping done. None. My clients have some really great stuff, though!
  • I did do my cards this year...whew hoo! I love Christmas cards...
  • I finally learned the stanky (sp?) leg dance. I am a year late, but I know it now. Thank you Chelsea.
  • Dallas and I watched the movie Funny People. It was so good. Vulger, but good.
  • Reese is really into everyone's feelings these days. If you aren't smiling, she says "Are you happy, mommy?" "Are you sad, mommy?" It's hilarious. If you see her, just smile.
  • I am going to blog pics soon...promise!! I am going to be better in 2010 (which is not hard to do since I've only blogged like twice this month...)
Peace out!

Saturday, December 5, 2009

knowing your place in this world...

Fact #1:I belong BEHIND the camera.
Fact#2:I apparently become a little mentally challenged when asked to act and/or smile normal for the camera.
Fact#3: I am from the ATL.
Fact #4: I don't get out much.
Fact#5:It may be quite a while before the McPherson family ventures out for a family photo session.
My good friend and fellow photog went out with the 3 macs for their family session. Here's what she sent me so far...

Why is it everytime you need a good gang sign you forget to throw one up???

Dallas saw it and with a very serious face asked what in the world was wrong with me, why did I make THAT face?

I think I'm taking this Oakland thing too far...

Are you scared to get our card???

Sunday, November 29, 2009

Thankful for Family...

What a wonderful past few days. Whew.
Yesterday we got up early and Mom, Boo & I went to meet the rest of the girls in the family at the FOX downtown to see the Rockettes. I LOVE the Rockettes! Sure, it was cooler when I saw them in NYC but honestly, once you sit down you feel like your right in the city! It was unreal.
Here's mom & boo right before we went in...

Thanks Daddy for your camera!! We would have missed out on lots! Then we headed to Lenox for some shopping before meeting up with the guys. We all were craving Mexican...yum!

After dinner, we headed to another family tradition! We've done this every year and this year was tehbest b/c Reese actually knew what was happening! Lake Lanier has great lights you can drive through. Reese was looking the entire drive for Dora in a Castle...never saw her! We had to pretend! She got to ride up front with me as we drove through! After, we all went to Santa's workshop for hot chocolate, games & lots of christmas goodies! Her daddy took her to ride the train...

But he couldn't fit, so in jumped mommy! We had fun!! Can you tell???

Daddy's girl...

Handsome daddy!

Mommy & Daddy!! Love him so much!

Boo & D...

Gigi braved the carousel with her...

Inside, we looked at all the ornaments (and bought some cute ones!!) Reese didn't want me to take her picture...

We got home late last night! Got up this morning for more family Thanksgiving food! We also added more ornaments to Reese's tree. This is in her room. Reese and I went to pick it out, then her and Daddy decorated it! Gigi and Boo bought her the "OMG" ornament and the "R" ball. We added the DIVA one this weekend. I love it!

Got this popsicle one too...

Thanks Boo & Gigi!

We took down her star and mom made her a bow tree topper. I love this ribbon mom & boo got her. Thanks!

Our Rockettes ornament! Reese LOVES this...she kicks like them after seeing them in the Thanksgiving Day parade!

Today, we played and ate and played some more. Reese loves to play with her papa (and nap with him).

Her Dady won her this hammer last night so she spent the day pounding everyone...

She had to help everyone with lunch...

Helped her Uncle D with the very important job of buttering the rolls...

She played Chase with everyone too and did her dancing spins...

And loved to stir the pot with Boo...

What a wonderful weekend with family! I loved every second of it. Can't wait for more!!